My first soiree with minimalism.

I started taking out the trash.

As I went through my years of closet hoarding surrounded by a pile of discarded fashions and clothes I hadn’t worn since the 90s, I asked myself “what have I done to myself?” This is pathetic. I haven’t bought an item of clothing in years…literally. Yet my closet vomited out shirts, pants, jeans, skirts, dresses (when was the last time I wore a dress???) and as it expelled the putrid remains of a shirt circa 1998, I delicately folded each item and put them in the appropriate place — a trash bag.

Aaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhh sweet freedom…

from junk

You are my witness as I proclaim my ever-increasing vigilence toward a minimalist lifestyle. And, since I am a devoted Christ follower, I will give Him all the glory for it. In this blog, I will share my trials of “not storing up treasures on earth” along with simple living tidbits, hopefully helpful information and the always encouraging word.

God, please show me what you really meant with all of this. Amen!

Welcome to my world, world. I invite you in.

Your tour guide: Bohemian Christian Chelle

7 responses to this post.

  1. Good post, Chelle.
    Like the way you wrote about vomiting the stuff out. Reminds me of Christ vomiting out the lukewarm.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Pastor Folz on March 29, 2011 at 7:05 am

    How lovely. This does seem to be the season of tossing out what no longer has value to us, so that others may see it as a treasure. Though I would rather be the treasure than what is tossed. But for me I find value in it all. Thank goodness I have friends that say,…really, really, a bent spoon? Yes it was the first one I used mind control! one shoe? I walked a long way in it! So Congrats to you in being able to toss what you no longer use, I am in the put it in a bucket, the memories have great value season!!

    Reply

    • Hey!

      Yep, it’s all about culling out the “I don’t need these.” and the “What is this?” and getting to the real treasures in your life. Those items and memories with great value. Well said!

      Thank you so much for your comment! Please comment again!

      ~Chelle

      Reply

  3. Posted by RedMami77 on March 29, 2011 at 7:59 pm

    It’s getting rid of the old things that aren’t giving life any longer. Things that are just taking up space but no longer have any meaning in our lives. It is time to get rid of all the junk so Gid can give treasure!!

    Reply

  4. I did a search for minimalist Christ Follower and found you! Wanted to introduce myself. I am an aspiring minimalist and in the season of shedding MANY posessions. My friend Jo and I just started a small blog at LessIsMoreJesus.blogspot.com

    Anyway. GIVE GIVE GIVE !!!! Enjoy the process of eliminating distractions.
    Are you on twitter so we can keep up with you?

    Endure to the end sister !
    Vee

    Reply

    • Vee! I’m so excited you stopped by! We must stick together! I started this blog because everything I saw out in cyberspace didn’t have a thing to say about Jesus! He is my all in all, and I give Him all the glory!

      If there is anything you’d like to read about, please let me know. I look forward to more posts!

      I’m not on twitter, but am so honored you’d like to keep up with me. hrmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm A twitter account may be calling! What do y’all think, blog readers? Should I?

      God bless you and Jo on your journey! I’m headed to your blog!

      ~Bohemian Christian Chelle

      Reply

Leave a Reply

