Baring my soul for minimalist wannabes worldwide

Now, before you look at the below photograph, you may want to take a deep breath, pull up a comfy chair and relax. I’m letting you in to my world with soul-baring intimacy.

Are you ready?

This is my desk…

Judge not, lest ye be judged. ;o)

 

I know.

I — a Christ-following minimalist — cringe when I look at it, too.  The Cheetoh®’s promo is courtesy of my hubby.

The problem: My husband and I moved from a three-bedroom house into a house with our personal space being one bedroom and a living room. You do the math. 🙂

We began this living arrangement three years ago so it is time to buck up and get on with the de-cluttering.

The other problem: I am overwhelmed with papers, cups, bills, junk, paperclips, folders,

AAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!

Sorry. I was sliding down the rabbit hole.

In this quest, I promise to:

  • Not just put everything in a box and hide it in our bedroom. (You know you’ve done it, too.)
  • Actually re-think, re-use and recycle everything on my desk.
  • Actually put things in their correct place. (Maybe put those cups in the kitchen? hrmmmmmm)
  • Use an attack plan.
  • Report in on my de-cluttering journey with hopefully enlightening tidbits and snazzy photos.

THE NOT-SO-TOP-SECRET ATTACK PLAN

Plan of Attack
Quadrants! We will attack in QUADRANTS!

 

Due to the overwhelming nature of my project, God has shown me our attack plan. Quadrants. I will attack quadrant #1 and report in, Cap’n!

Now, I want to know something from you…

What does YOUR desk look like? Didn’t think I’d go there did ya? ;o)

Post your photos below and share how you keep it clean, get swallowed up in it, or would like to see it look. The first person to post a photo will receive something sweet from me.

God bless us all on this journey to simplify.

~Bohemian Christian Chelle

4 responses to this post.

  1. Not sure if the picture will show up here, but here’s my desk. If it doesn’t work, click this link: http://jackie-castle.blogspot.com/2010/10/day-50-yikes-ive-been-doing-this-for.html

    Good Post. Good luck with that desk. lololol.
    J.

    Reply

  2. Poo I missed the first person thing. oh well, i just found my desk the other day. It was camouflaged as a stuff magnet. Personally I like the box method. I have to come to find out I am a piler and not a filer. Boxed accommodate stuff and allows me to go through it another time. I can have a 2010 box, a 2011 box, a writing box…. I like boxes.

    Reply

    • I love boxes, too! My best use of boxes is for my individual writing projects. I have one box for each book/idea. I put everything for that one book in it’s specific box. Notes, articles, other books for research, you name it! Sometimes boxes are a good thing!

      Thanks for reminding me of those good reasons that I’m a piler/stuff it in a box person, too. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

