Simple Suppers – Bruschetta

I love simple vegetarian meals. Some of you may not know, but I was a vegetarian for about six  years, which ended recently with my return to carnivore-ism. We’ll talk about that more later. Oh, the suspense!

One thing I also love is easy cooking, so tonight I wanted to share one of my favorite things to cook and eat — Bruschetta.

For those who don’t know what bruschetta is — or how to pronounce it — here you go courtesy of www.dictionary.com:

bru·schet·ta  /brʊˈskɛtə, -ˈʃɛtə; It. bruˈskɛttɑ/

[broo-sket-uh, -shet-uh; It. broo-sket-tah]

–noun

an Italian appetizer consisting of toasted bread slices drizzled with olive oil and usually topped with tomatoes and basil.

See…simple. 🙂

First, you’ll need a few ingredients.

Your basic ingredients

  1. Bread – I used home-made white bread, but a baguette from the grocery store works just fine.
  2. Tomatoes – I ended up only cutting up two in the end. I could have cut up the third, but the simple fact was I was hungry and ready to get the show on the road.
  3. Fresh basil
  4. Mozzarella cheese
  5. Olive oil

Step 1:

Preheat your oven to 350° F.

Step 2:

Slice your bread to your liking.

Step 3:

Slice up your tomatoes into nice little chunks. I don’t like all of the seeds, so I removed them as I cut.

Step 4:

Gently tear up little pieces of basil leaves and sprinkle them onto the pile. (According to Gabriele on The Cooking Channel’s Extra Virgin, cutting the basil with a knife bruises the herb and destroys the taste. I trust Gabriele, so there ya go.)

I added shredded mozzarella at this stage. Add salt and pepper to taste along with a delicate drizzle of your best olive oil.

Step 5:

Mix, mix, mix. You can do all of this with your fingers. You save on clean-up and get a lovely little manicure from the olive oil. Enjoy!

You're almost done!

Step 6:

Place your bread on a cookie sheet. Place lovely clumps of tomato/basil/mozzarella goodness on each slice of bread.

Ready to go!

Want more olive oil? Go for it! Feel the need for more cheese? Sprinkle away!

Cooking is art.  And, this is your masterpiece. Create away!

Beautiful!

Step 7:

I cooked mine for about 5 to 10 minutes. What you are looking for is melted cheese and crispy golden edges.

For you garlic lovers, spread crushed garlic on each slice of bread before dolloping on your tomatoes.  Or, use a garlic-infused olive oil.

Clean-up Factor: Easy! I used the same knife for everything, cut and mixed everything on the same cutting board, and put everything on one plate when I was done. Keep it simple, and you’ll keep it up!

May God bless you richly this week as you love and serve Him. From my simple supper kitchen to yours,

Bohemian Christian Chelle

2 responses to this post.

  1. YUMMY YUM YUM!! Ok,I will definately have to try that. Awesome pictures and instructions.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

