Simple Suppers – Salmon Croquettes with Black Bean Smash

Salmon Croquettes and Black Bean Smash

Hello, my fellow minimalists! Tonight’s meal is what I lovingly refer to as a “What do we have on the shelf?” creation.

A few days ago, a friend of ours brought over two cans of salmon under the premise of “We’ll never eat this at our house. Do y’all want it?”

Well, of course I do! Free…ummm…complimentary food is one of my favorite minimalist activities. So, in honor of free-food lovers everywhere, enjoy.

Salmon Croquettes with Black Bean Smash

Ingredients:

  • 2 cans of salmon (14.75 oz. cans)
  • 2 eggs
  • Onion or dried minced onion
  • chives
  • flour
  • Olive Oil

Black Bean Smash:

  • 1 can of black beans
  • garlic
  • Olive Oil

First: Please note that when you receive a can of salmon, you will get her hands dirty. I’ve seen it on TV where they literally use the whole can, but have you seen what is in that can? Let me show you:

Skin and bones and vertebra, oh my!

Pour the cans gently into a shallow plate. Let me reinterate gently. My mom plopped the can-shaped blob of salmon in the pie plate, and I received a salmon juice shower. I was very popular with our dogs after that.

It really doesn’t take long to go through the fish. I pull off the skin, anything that I feel I don’t want to eat, and the bones. The bones are very soft, so if you get one, you probably won’t even notice so don’t worry.

Pet lovers: When you are finished cleaning the salmon, mush up the “leftovers” to crush up all of the little bones and give it to your favorite four-legged pal. They will love you for it! And, have a shiny coat, too.

After washing your hands, grab a plate and put about a 1/2 cup of flour on it. Save this for later to coat your croquettes.

Also, pour 1/2 inch of cooking oil/Olive Oil/your favorite oil in a deep-sided skillet and heat over medium heat while you get the patties ready.

Add 2 eggs, onion, chives, salt and pepper

While your oil is heating: With a fork, flake up the salmon. Then add two eggs, 1/2 teaspoon of dried onion flakes or as much fresh onion as you’d like. Like I said, this is my “What do we have on the shelf?” meal. Our onion was flimsy and no longer smelled like an onion, so I opted for the dried variety.

I also added fresh chives to ours since we had some growing. Other great additions would be parsley(dried or fresh), bell peppers in your favorite color, jalepenos, etc…

Add salt and pepper, and now, after rolling up your shirt sleeves, get your hands in their and mix, mix, mix!

Now, with your already dirty hands, make cute little patties and coat them in the flour that you prepared earlier.

Coat each patty lightly in flour before frying.

When your oil is ready to go, place your patties in the skillet and cook on each side for about 4 minutes. ***DO NOT MESS WITH THEM WHILE THEY ARE COOKING.*** Leave them alone and flip ONE TIME. Unless you like fried salmon flakes when your patties fall apart. Then have at it. Woo. Sorry. I am serious about my salmon croquettes.

Remove and set on a paper towel to absorb the oil.

2 cans = 9 croquettes

If you are a sufficient multi-tasker, while you are frying your croquettes, get out a can of your favorite beans. I chose black beans, but Great Northern Beans are my other favorite option for this recipe. SO EASY!

Put about a tablespoon of olive oil in a small frying pan. Put in some fresh garlic and lightly brown it. Drain the excess liquid off of the beans and pour them in the frying pan. With your favorite cooking spoon (I know you have one.) start smashin’, people! And, as your beans warm up, smash, smash, smash! This is your chance to feel all chef-like. Go crazy! When they are the consistency you like, stop smashing. Simple. And, it takes about five minutes.

Black Bean Smash with Chives

For our veggie, I added a salad with feta cheese crumbles. We always have lettuce and tomato on hand. A salad is always easy and a colorful addition to any meal. Since I had to have a balanced meal, I added a salad as my veggie to appease mom. 🙂 Hi, mom!

This meal has so many variations, and can totally be created by items in your pantry if needed. Remember:

Cooking is art. And, this is your masterpiece.

Create away!

Don’t forget to recycle your cans!

God bless and happy eating!

~Bohemian Christian Chelle

Leave a Reply

