Splats – Shiny Purple Wrappers – and Jesus’ Love

My day today was crummy. Well, not all of it, but at least the end. I know I shouldn’t judge my entire day on the last 30 minutes, but that was the last memory I left with, so there ya go.

Why is it that we always do that? The rest of my day was okay. I wouldn’t call it stellar by any means, but it was livable. But, when 5 o’clock hit — right when I was ready to go home — everything that was teetering on the edge all day plunged head first off the proverbial cliff. *splat*

After I cleaned up what I could and prepared for more tomorrow, I came home, ate dinner trying my best to fill my heart with joy and forgiveness, got an upset stomach for worrying through my meal, and collapsed on the couch with my hubby and a heap of dogs. My heart is sensitive to the world right now. We are in a weird place right now, and my day was weird right along with it.

Craving dessert, I put out a call to the household for anything sweet. My answer came from my mom swooping in with two bags of candy and a smile. Thanks, Mom. 🙂

I took both the bags in my eager hands, ready to sort out my options. One, a joyful bag of Easter-colored Hershey Kisses. The other, beautifully delectable Dove chocolates wrapped in my favorite color purple and with ALMONDS.

The almonds won.

In the midst of it all, while I was ripping open the bag of chocolate elation, God whispered, “I love you,” with the simplest gift. How do I know:

1. They were purple. My favorite color.

2. I adore almonds. Really, I do!

3. And, the first one I opened said this:

God's Simple Reminder

Take a moment for yourself.

As I opened the shiny silver insides to reveal my anticipated message, I drew in a deep breath and relaxed. God knew just what I needed: A simple reminder that more often than I think, I need to sit and breathe and drink in His love for me while savoring the perfect piece of chocolate…with almonds.

When you’ve had a not-so-great day and your spirit is deflated, ask God for a simple reminder of His infinite love for you. He’ll give you one.

Taking a moment for myself (to share with you),

~Bohemian Christian Chelle

P.S. Don’t worry. I only ate three. 😉

P.S.S. I just ate one more

Leave a Reply

