Baring my soul – The Prequel

I figured if Star Wars, Superman and Indiana Jones could do it…

Let’s start at the beginning.

I have no organizational skills. I am so impaired that filing sends me into an overdramatic, anxiety-ridden mess. I’m nervous now just thinking about it.

As you know, I’ve been gradually eliminating clutter from my life. I started with our desk, so piled with papers and knick-knacks that I could not remember what color it is. It’s brown by the way.

I broke the process down into quadrants and attacked each quadrant accordingly until I had success! A clean desk stared back at me beckoning me to write, write, write. Praise God!

But, now I have a problem. What to do with all these papers? I decided to use boxes. I love boxes. They hold things ya like, and they hold things you should best donate to charity.

My three boxes gave advice as well:
Recycle me
Trash it!
Keep it!

Each box with its own agenda. As you may have guessed, my “Keep it!” box quickly became a heap of papers, postcards, and other reminders of my and my husband’s life.

Now, the “Recycle Me” and the “Trash it!” boxes were easy and have been taken care of like a mafia hit. BAM! But, that “Keep it!” box. That awful, dreaded, brown behemoth of cardboard.

Is it sane to despise an inaminate ojbect this much? I’ll be honest. I’m discouraged, folks. My minimalist joyride has screeched to a halt as if the cops threw out the spike strip.

This is my problem:

“I might use this later” syndrome

How often have we been taken advantage of, fallen under the delusion of this sad little phrase. How often has “later” EVER COME??????????????

Breathe in. Breathe out.

From this day forward, I will forever remove this phrase from my vocabulary. As it is written in Matthew 6:34:

Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

This story now has a new beginning starting today. Hallelujah!

Repenting of my hoarding, not-trusting-in-God’s provision ways,

~Bohemian Christian Chelle

Leave a Reply

