Simple Suppers – God’s Provision

When I woke up this morning, I had no idea what I wanted to post for tonight’s Simple Supper. I hadn’t cooked anything lately. I spent the entire weekend out of town. I also didn’t have anything in the house to cook.

Until I got to work this morning.

25 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? 26 Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27 Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?

~Matthew 6:25-27

The Lord always provides everything that I need – from food to blog posts.

This morning on my way to work, I received a call from my co-worker saying she left a bag of fresh, homegrown collard greens on my desk chair. What a wonderful surprise and accent for my evening meal. When I arrived at the office, I immediately went to snoop in the bag. Beautifully hardy greens neatly enveloped each other in the bottom of the bag. I’ve never cooked collard greens. Surely, my mom will know.

Nope.

Two born-and-raised Southern gals with no idea how to cook some southern veggies. To the internet I goooooooooo…

I looked up a recipe, and the fast ways were basically like I’d cook spinach. Easy!

Ingredients for Chelle’s Southern Collard Greens with a Sizable Twist

2 Tbsp. Olive Oil

1/4 cup diced onion

1/2 teaspoon fresh garlic

1/4 -1/2 teaspoon ginger (My secret ingredient)

Collard Greens – WASH THOROUGHLY and cut to any size ya like.

In a deep-sided pan, heat 2 Tbsp. of olive oil on low to medium heat. Add 1/4 onion and “sweat” them until they are clear and glisteny. Add in 1/2 teaspoon (1-2 cloves) fresh garlic and 1/4 teaspoon ginger (I used fresh). When everything becomes aromatic (which only takes a few minutes), add in the collard greens and stir them into the shiny-olive-oil goodness. Once I coated the greens thoroughly, I put the lid on and let them do their thing for about 5 to 7 minutes.

Collard Greens about to do their thing.

Check the consistency while you cook. I didn’t want a mushy green sludge, but that may be your favorite way. Experiment. Remember…

Cooking is art. And, this is your masterpiece.

Create away!

Chelle's Southern Collard Greens with a Sizable Twist

The greens will reduce down as they cook so prepare accordingly for how much to start with. The amount I used shown above would conservatively feed four people or provide two hearty veggie portions.

The taste test: I adore collard greens! And, the ginger added a nice Asian touch to the Southern specialty. If you don’t like ginger, no worries. Leave it out. Experiment with other ingredients such as red pepper flakes, and for the carnivores slam a ham hock or some bacon in there. Create! Create! Create!

Until next time,

-Bohemian Christian Chelle

Leave a Reply

