Be Anxious for Nothing

Philippians 4:4-7

Rejoice in the Lord always. Again I will say, rejoice! Let your gentleness be known to all men. The Lord is at hand. Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

It’s been a rough week. I haven’t felt very strong emotionally, physically or spiritually. It’s times like this when all I can do is to ask Jesus Christ to come, take my hand, and walk me through my day navigating the pitfalls, snares and barbed-wired fences. I feel at times He gets me to this place so I will rely 100% on Him. I have to. I can’t make it on my own. But, boy do I try. Do you?

I asked God for a scripture to guide me. This morning, I awoke to that familiar, gentle, exquisite voice encouraging me with “Philippians 4:6.” That was all I heard and all I needed.

Philippians 4:6 is “Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God…”

Be anxious for nothing…

This is not advice. This is not a suggestion. This is a command for being a Christ follower.

But in everything by prayer and supplication…

What in the world is supplication? Am I the only one who read this and went, “huh?”? So, I right clicked and chose “synonyms” and one hit the mark:

Plea

Immediately, I thought of asking, seeking and knocking. And, the parable of the woman who went before the judge so many times that he gave her what she asked for her persistence. Don’t give up! Keep praying for our Lord is listening!

With thanksgiving…

I am so grateful for everything the Lord has given to me. But, how many times have I focused more on the “Why God?”s than the “Thank you, God!”’s ? I love how God added in these two simple words as a gentle reminder to be grateful. To be grateful in spite of it all. To be grateful for breath, and legs and eyes, and friends and puppy breath. Be thank-FULL.

Let your requests be made known to God.

I want to be happy. I want to live my passion which is loving and encouraging God’s children — ALL of them. I want to be utterly and completely used by Him. I want to be all that He created me to be. I want to BE.

And, I want to be grateful every step of the way.

Thank you, Lord.

Amen.

~Bohemian Christian Chelle

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by patriciacarroll on May 19, 2011 at 9:01 pm

    Good one, Chelle.
    Was just thinking of you, too.
    God is good.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

