Simple Truths – His Loving Kindness is Better than Life

Because your loving kindness is better than life, my lips shall praise you. -Psalm 63:3

Psalm 63 is a beautiful song of thanks to our King. One line sticks out to me though. It popped in my mind when I was urged by the Spirit to write a ditty about kindness for the blog.

In verse three, it speaks of God’s loving kindness. Not just kindness. Not just pick-you-up-when-you-fall-down kindness, but pick-you-up, brush-you-off, spray-on-some-antiseptic-and-put-on-a-band-aid kind of kindness. The kind of loving kindness our Father would want us all to show each other.

I don’t know when it my life being kind to someone became hard for me. It’s not the act of being kind. I’d like to think that the act of kindness is very natural. It’s the way I feel when I am kind to someone. Especially when they look at me like I’m crazy or like I am out to get something. It’s saddens my heart. I guess growing up in a world that values selfishness and getting ahead more than letting a person cut in line will do that to you. Or, not laughing when others make fun of someone. No one wants to be laughed at, too. Right?

For some reason–and y’all feel free to chime in on this–we are a pull-yourself-up-by-your-bootstraps society. I live in Texas, and for those of you in Texas, you will understand this. For those of you in other parts of this great earth, we have a tendency in Texas to be a very independent state –both in people and land.

Can you tell I’m having a day? Really, my day wasn’t bad. I think the Lord is just showing me what He has for me to learn. And, what He has for me to pass on to His children.

When God encouraged me to write this, I asked Him, “Why do we choose not to be kind?”

Is it a way to hide hurt?

To not be hurt?

To not be pushed around?

To not seem weak?

When did being kind to someone equal being weak?

Why does the world make me feel this way? Does it make you feel the same way? I just feel bombarded by media and print exhibiting acts of humiliation. Acts of treating people with disrespect; of laughing at them for believing in a purpose. Why do we make fun of each other? Why, when people want to change their lives and not conform to the ordinary, do others pressure them into staying in the norm?

Jealousy? Maybe.

When Jesus died for us on the cross, He exhibited the greatest and most significant act of loving kindness imaginable. He died for us. For all of us. The sinners and the saints. What better way for the enemy to taint it by making me feel insecure in my acts of loving kindness. People do care. And, they need my acts and your acts of loving kindness.

Loving is hard. Let’s face it. Putting your heart out there can bring back two results: Intense pain or intense joy. I believe that in times of guarding our heart against the pain, we never give it a chance to experience the joy. After many years of blocking the pain, I choose now to love and love and love. God will take care of the rest. And, He will bring me joy.

LOVE God. LOVE His people. Show loving kindness and respect. Treat others as Jesus treated the woman at the well. A woman living in sin who was from a group of people that any other Jew would have turned his back on. But, not our Lord. He loved her with His loving kindness, and she left to sin no more.

I thank you, God, for Your loving kindness is truly better than life. I pray that I seek Your approval and not man’s. That I may get my ego out of the way and show Your loving kindness to all your creation.

~Bohemian Christian Chelle

For your Bible-reading pleasure…

Psalm 63


1 O God, you are my God; early will I seek you: my soul thirsts for you, my flesh longs for you in a dry and thirsty land, where no water is;

2 To see your power and your glory, so as I have seen you in the sanctuary.

3 Because your loving kindness is better than life, my lips shall praise you.

4 Thus will I bless you while I live: I will lift up my hands in your name.

5 My soul shall be satisfied as with marrow and fatness; and my mouth shall praise you with joyful lips:

6 When I remember you on my bed, and meditate on you in the night watches.

7 Because you have been my help, therefore in the shadow of your wings will I rejoice.

8 My soul follows hard after you: your right hand upholds me.

9 But those that seek my soul, to destroy it, shall go into the lower parts of the earth.

10 They shall fall by the sword: they shall be a portion for foxes.

11 But the king shall rejoice in God; every one that swears by him shall glory: but the mouth of them that speak lies shall be stopped.

Leave a Reply

