Simple Suppers – Chelle’s Recycled Chicken Salad

There is nothing I like more on a lazy Saturday than chicken salad — on a sandwich, in a salad, whatever way floats my boat at the time. And, I love crazy chicken salad combinations. Tonight’s simple supper is just that!

To me, chicken salad is one of those creative meals where anything goes. You can mix and match based on your tastes and what it in your kitchen. I love creating new combos and experiencing the new flavors and mixtures.

For supper last week, my mom baked a whole chicken. We ate what we wanted then, and now I get to do one of my favorite things: Figure out fun things to make with the rest of the bird! The point to minimalistic cooking for me is to find new and different ways to experience food. Baking a whole fryer is cheap and feeds a family for days. Not only can you use the meat, but you can boil what’s left for homemade chicken stock. Use everything, and think simple.

For tonight’s Simple Supper recipe, I picked the rest of the meat off of the poor little bird carcass – which completely reminded me of why I was a vegetarian for six years – and made the yummiest chicken salad ever. This is totally to my taste, thus the title:

Chelle's Recycled Chicken Salad with Strawberries

Chelle’s Recycled Chicken Salad

Ingredients:

  • ¼ cup shredded chicken
  • 1-2 strawberries (diced) *Yes, strawberries!
  • 1 date (diced)
  • Some fresh tomato (diced)
  • 1 tablespoon mayo
  • ¼ teaspoon fresh ginger

Combine everything in a bowl and enjoy! I made a yummy sandwich with mine. If my version doesn’t float your boat, make one that floats yours! Here are some possible ingredients:

  • Apple
  • Mustard
  • Nuts
  • Grapes
  • Cranberries
  • Fresh Broccoli
  • Raisins

Or, if you just like chicken and mayo, by all means, enjoy your chicken and mayo! Or, Miracle Whip!

On that note:  Mayo? Or, Miracle Whip? Which do you choose? Tell me about it below!

God bless, y’all!  And, remember:

Cooking is art. And, this is your masterpiece!

Create away!

~Bohemian Christian Chelle

2 responses to this post.

  1. I’m with you, chicken salad is a personal kind of recipe that can be made anyway you like. Matter-of-fact, I don’t think I’ve made it the same way twice. However, I have now vowed to only make chicken salad from a “real” backed or grilled chicken. I made some the other day from a can and my kitchen smelled like dog food for hours afterward. Nobody would eat it. lol.

    Ah, live and learn.
    Still loving your blog, btw.
    J.

    Reply

  2. Hey, Jackie!

    Thanks for the post! And, I’m so glad you are enjoying the blog!

    And, I am glad you have come over to the recycled-chicken side! Yay! To me, chicken salad is total comfort food. It’s cozy and warm and reminds me of lazy days at home.

    For those of you out there who love canned chicken, please remember to recycle your can!

    Hugs!

    ~Bohemian Christian Chelle

    Reply

Leave a Reply

