Simple Suppers – Mesquite-grilled Calzones and Pizzas

So the other day I called my mom and said, “ Hey, Mom! I didn’t do a Simple Supper for the blog last week because it was July 4th and I completely forgot it was Monday. I’d like to make pizzas for this week’s post to make up to my readers my lack of calendar-using skills.”

And, mom said, “I just so happened to cut out a recipe for a no-rise pizza dough that I want to try.”

And, wah la! Our Simple Supper was born! Isn’t it simple how God works?

One of my favorite things to do are “create your own” meals. Chalupas, tacos, omelets, pizzas. Those meals where — with a few trusty ingredients — you, your family and your guests can build and create their own unique culinary concoctions.

For tonight’s Simple Supper, I want to share with you the recipe my mom found in the Thursday, July 6, 2011, edition of the Waco Tribune Herald in the Frugal Living column entitled Recipe for Homemade Pizza Requires No Rise Dough.  I will comment below when I find out the name of the writer of this column. (My mom cut out the recipe without her credit info, and I want to give credit where credit is due!) This writer offers fantastic advice on simple living and money-saving tips. I highly recommend you check out her feature.

So here goes as you journey with me through my first attempt at a new dough recipe. May the ride be smooth and the dough be fluffy.

No-rise Pizza Dough

Ingredients:

  • 1 egg
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons shortening
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 packages dry yeast
  • 4 ½ to 5 cups flour

Step 1: Beat egg, sugar and salt together.

Step 2: In a separate bowl, heat the shortening, milk, and water to lukewarm, then add yeast.

Step 3: Combine the milk mixture with the egg mixture.

Step 4: Add in the flour until the mixture is no longer sticky.

Step 5: Roll out dough on a floured board into the shapes of your liking. Place on a greased pan.

Use plenty of flour to prevent the dough from sticking to everything.

Now on to the more good stuff…

THE TOPPINGS!

In a previous post, we made our homemade spaghetti sauce. For tonight’s pizzas, I made the same thing on a smaller scale with one can of tomato sauce and a little water. (Jarred sauce is fine if you have some around, but I promise this homemade sauce is so quick and easy it won’t take you any time to make at all. And, you can have the satisfaction of knowing your created it yourself. :))

We kicked it old school tonight with tomato sauce, pepperoni and a mound of mozzarella to top it off.  We also made calzones by folding the pizza in half and folding over the edges to seal it up.

This is why I love homemade pizzas! You can create any combinations you choose! From alfredo sauce and spinach to fresh sliced tomatoes, basil and mozzarella, remember…

Cooking is art. And, this is your masterpiece.

Create away!

Michael aka “Grillmaster M” preheated the gas grill to 300 degrees, then once the pizzas were on the grilled he maintained a temp of 350 to 400. He also made a smoker box out of aluminum foil containing wet mesquite wood chips to add a wonderful element to the dish. We cooked the pizzas  for 10 to 15 minutes depending on the size and the thickness of the calzones. This is a great way not to heat up your house during a hot Texas summer.

Tip from Grillmaster M: Cook your pizzas and calzones on indirect heat. This will prevent your creation from burning on the bottom while still being a doughy gooey mess on top. (My man knows his stuff!)

Cooking on indirect heat helps cook the pizzas and calzones throughout without burning on the bottom.

With the dough recipe above, we made two medium-sized pizzas, a giant Michael-sized calzone, and five smaller calzones to freeze for lunches this week. We are minimalizing, people! And, I love it!

Chelle’s Simple Living Tip: If you don’t want to make all the pizzas at one time, roll out the dough into rounds and cook them to “almost done” when you cook the other pizzas. When cooled, wrap in cling wrap and toss in the freezer. When you are craving a little taste of Italy, take one out, thaw it to room temperature, decorate with ingredients as you see fit and pop in the oven (or grill) until beautifully golden brown and cooked throughout. Since you cooked the pizza rounds prior to freezing they will cook quickly making a fast and easy homemade meal.

This works well for parties as you can make all of the mini pizzas in advance and then get them out prior to you festivities allowing a more relaxing atmosphere for you, the host. 🙂

Or, create your favorite recipe and put in the freezer. Then, instead of calling your local delivery guy, pop it in the over for 10 minutes or so at 350 degrees, and you have a gourmet treat ready to serve.

Tell me about your favorite pizza combinations! Are you a Canadian bacon and pineapple gal? Or, a “strictly cheese for me” guy? Let me know below. I’d love to highlight your flavor combos on my blog.

~Bohemian Christian Chelle

3 responses to this post.

  1. Hey, everybody! I just wanted to add that these pizzas were fabulous! The dough was perfect and the mesquite gave the pizza a beautiful gourmet finish!

    I will comment again when I have the name of the writer.

    God bless you on your simple-living journeys!

    ~Bohemian Christian Chelle

    Reply

  2. Posted by Tracee on July 11, 2011 at 1:40 pm

    No combo here, just strictly pepperoni!!! I like spinach alfredo. I would love to make that homemade.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

