Simple Truths – for writers and creatives craving His will

Tonight’s Simple Truths isn’t about minimalizing, organizing, cooking, or simplifying. I’m taking the liberty tonight to listen to Jesus and blog about something that I’m earnest about right now. Maybe this if for you? Or, maybe it’s for me so I’ll stay encourage and write for the Lord. But, in either case, I’m getting it out there and putting it down. Enjoy 🙂

There’s nothing new under the sun. ~ Ecclesiastes 1:9

Harsh words to hear as a writer as you crave to invent the next new thing. Write of things no one has heard before. String words together in a new array that is enticing and bold and flavorful that will make your reader’s exclaim, “WOW! These words! I’ve never read such eloquence! I’m been enlightened and moved! I’ve never seen it that way before!”

I want to create the next new thing. But, in the midst of my creativity, I hit brick walls. They pop up at random. Those little fears fall before me like a ravine impossible to cross. The enemy speaks with persistence when creativity is at hand. Why? Do you think the enemy wants your dreams to come true? He came here to steal, kill and destroy, remember?

Today is the day I’m laying my fears aside. Today is the day the Lord has made. I will rejoice and be glad in it. (paraphrase of Psalm 118:24) Today I will address these fears and put them to rest. Today, I give it all to God, and I will share with you my fears in case they are some of your own.

Fear #1: What if I only have one great idea?

Did God have only one great idea? Did He create a bird and say, “Well, that’s all I got in me. I’m done now. “  Do you know that there are more than 9,000 different kinds of birds on this planet? 9,000. I don’t know about you, but I don’t have time to even write 9,000 books, articles or coloring books. The possibilities are endless for our creative processes. Keep creating. God is the Great Creator and we are created in His image.

Genesis 1:27  reminds us: So God created mankind in his own image, in the image of God He created them; male and female he created them.

He will give you your next idea. He promises in His word that if we delight in Him he will give us the desires of our hearts (Psalm 37:4). He will give them. God’s word is truth. To believe anything else would be calling Him a liar.

Fear #2: What if my dreams come true. Then what?

Ummmmmm. Good for you! Congratulations on seeing your dreams come true!

Now, are you afraid of success? Or, are you afraid of maintaining it? Oh, the power struggle between God’s approval and man’s approval. Please God and He will bless you. Simple obedience to His will gets you far with our Dad. Are you being obedient to God’s will or to your own ambition? Be honest with yourself.

When you achieve your dream, revel in it, roll around in it and praise God for it! Maybe when you’ve achieved success, you can mentor another and help their dreams become realities.

I realized I am afraid of success. I’m also afraid of failure. What will people say if I don’t “make it?” Once again, am I doing this for man’s approval or God’s approval?

Fear #3: “What if I write this book that God put on my heart and nothing happens with it?”

A friend of mine asked me this a few days ago. It was a hard question to answer. What if nothing happens with your book you’ve slaved over for three years? But, what if something does? What if your book is strictly for you to write to heal from your past? What if the first book leads to the second book and that’s the one that changes literature forever? What if…

What if we allow it to be easy?

God will guide this process and make it okay. Trust Him.

I am a firm believer that when God puts a burning desire inside you – one of those all-consuming, all-encompassing passions from Jesus– He has a way of seeing it through if you are obedient. Obedience is the key. I’ve also heard that if you want to be published, you will get published. And, I heard this from people in publishing. Perfect your craft. Persistence, divine appointments and God’s timing. Be patient (I know –yuck) and listen to Him. He will guide and direct your path. He says:

Trust in the LORD with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths. (Proverbs 3:5-6 ; NKJV emphasis added)

God gifted you with this ability—the ability to weave words into beautiful tapestries of His grace.

Romans 12:2 says “Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is – his good, pleasing and perfect will.”

Above all else, crave to be in God’s will. His good, pleasing and perfect will. When I first began my writing career, all I could see was my name in lights. The fame of being a writer. Having my books turned into movies. God gently nudged me. Where was He in this? Ouch. I now give God the glory. I write what He wants to me write. I do what He has me do. I am nothing without Him. He is in me, and I am in Him. If I’m not writing what He requests, then I don’t want to be writing. I’m not going on this journey without Him in the lead. He loves me and wants what’s best for me. I trust Him. And, now I know that the writing stage was a gentle push into a new direction that I never thought I wanted: to be a teacher and speaker of His goodness spreading His encouragement worldwide. I never thought I’d love to be a speaker, and now here I am waiting for an opportunity. God knows when that will happen, and He is preparing me for it. Each step of God’s process is part of the journey and a key to complete the task He created you to do.

For we are God’s handiwork, created  in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.~Ephesians 2:10

Listen to Him. He loves you. Trust Him.

Be encouraged! Write! He put it on your heart. Trust Him to see it through. All of you have something that God created you to do/be/ write/sing/draw/love. Now is the time to listen to His guidance and do it.

What will God have you do? What are your dreams? What if the “what if’s” were out of the way and you could live your dream? Please post it below if God urges you to share. Be blessed! I can’t wait to see what God has for you to do!

~Bohemian Christian Chelle

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Pastor J. on July 13, 2011 at 10:05 pm

    I would like to lead the world to Jesus and let Jesus take them to our Father. What if no one wanted to go?

    I wish everyone who says they love Jesus, really did and would say Pastor J. how far are we running today? How many can we talk to today? Why is it so crowded during prayer time? I wish everyone who claims to love really did without conditions,

    I want to lead those that are willing to go the distance for God…without checking the mileage. If you see some wandering around 40 years or less,..
    ummm, but if you see some looking for directions email me! As for me I am standing with Jesus and He with me, and we with you and you with us. Because we love each other.

    I love your articles and recipes. ~Pastor J.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

