Simple Suppers – Summer Meals and Prayerful Epiphanies

It’s been awhile now since I’ve posted anything for Simple Suppers. I was on a roll with simple recipes that are not only easy to make, but the ingredients – or most of them – should be in any pantry.

I’ve hit a wall. A wall of 100-degree temps, sweltering afternoons and not one good recipe to post.

*sigh*

The reasons?

It’s hot. I don’t know about you, but our kitchen heats up the entire house. And, when it’s 109 outside, 85 just shouldn’t be legal for inside. But alas, when we cook, we heat.

I’m tired. Nuff said.

My life is off kilter. Balance. It’s a foreign word to me. No entiendo, Señor.

I love to cook. I love to experiment in the kitchen. I love to eat neat/different things at hole in the wall restaurants. I like to experience food. The taste, smell and atmosphere. I love it all!

But, now…

I’m tired and off balance. And, when I’m tired and teetering, I am too tempted by a drive-through lane. Now God has blessed us and we can eat out without hesitation. But, seriously, do I want to spend my money on fast food? Or, should I save it for God’s Kingdom? I know what I should do. Go home, make a simple meal, take a photo or two, and enjoy it. But alas, the car veers into a parking lot and up to that familiar window. Thank you, God, for the ability to pay and be spoiled by quick, easy pick-up options.

My reasons are thwarting my minimalist lifestyle.

So I’ve been thinking. What does minimalism mean to me? Is it enjoying life to the fullest with fast food and eating out when I want? Is it living with less so I can have more of the things I love?

Yes.

I prayerfully consider each purchase, from a drive-through luxurious coffee treat to dinner for my family. And, I’ve come to the realization that I love food. I want to experience food. Food gives me comfort.

In moderation.

1 Corinthians 6: 19-20 talks about our bodies regarding sexual sin, but I wanted to share it so we’d be reminded of  just how important our bodies are for the Kingdom of Heaven.  The scripture says…

Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body.

I’m reminded of that saying, “what goes in must come out.” Is God going in? Is the love of Christ and His teachings going in? Are the food and drink that support our health going in? Or, are we filling both our physical and spiritual bellies with junk?

Maybe that is what the simple-living lifestyle is all about. Not depriving myself of the things I love. Not throwing out heartfelt memories in an attempt to achieve blank space. But, moderation and being conscious of what I bring into my world and my body. It’s about enjoying the things I love and not wasting my memories, my time and my waistline. It’s about moderation and thoughtfulness in my things that keep me so distracted from the most important thing: My Father.

1 Timothy 6:6-8 (NIV) says…

But godliness with contentment is great gain. For we brought nothing into the world, and we can take nothing out of it. But if we have food and clothing, we will be content with that.

So, I’m praying and thinking about things differently now. I know He will guide me. He promises that. He promises abundance for His servants. I’m ready to rest in His simple abundance seeking balance as I travel down His path.

So for tonight’s meal, we might make a simple salad with lunch meat slivers. Or, who knows. Maybe God has something else planned. ;o)

May God bless you on this continued and evolving journey.

~Bohemian Christian Chelle

2 responses to this post.

  1. That’s why the holidays are in the winter so we can enjoy the cooking. lol. I think your minimalist lifestyle means balance. Not too much minimal. God is abundance. He’s more than enough. However, it’s not indulgence either. He’ s not for “just good enough”, as in this hamburger meal is good enough for tonight cause I’m hot and tired. He wants more than that for our lives.
    Find the balance, and you’ll walk in joy and contentment.
    Miss you.
    J.

    Reply

    • Hey, Jackie!

      I think that is why people turn their heads from the simple living lifestyle. They believe it means that thy have to get rid if things and live in scarcity. It’s quite the opposite. As I decrease and pray about my “things,” I allow God to increase and be the center of my life. He’s blessings are abundant, and I am receiving the desires of my heart as He has promised. Minimizing is not doing with less, but experiencing the true riches of life more.

      When I decrease, I allow Him room to increase.

      God bless you! And, I miss you, too.

      Keep writing 😉

      -Bohemian Christian Chelle

      Reply

Leave a Reply

