Minimal-izing: Sometimes you just need a really good excuse

Taking our treasures to a new home

Sometimes you just need an excuse.

An excuse to buy that new dress.

An excuse to replace your old, out-dated TV with the most up-to-date version.

An excuse to minimize and throw away.

God knows I need an excuse. And, He sure gave me one.

My husband and I have been praying about our family for a long time now. With much prayer and petition, God is leading us on a new journey in life, and with it, we need a cleaned out, disaster-free bedroom.

At the end of this month, our family will begin adoption training through Family and Protective Services.

It’s a big step for both of us. Not only maturity wise, but focus wise. When we get the call, everything will change. We are ready for it.

Nothing like a home study to put a fire under you to get things done!

As I’ve chronicled along our journey to minimalism, our adventures can only be categorized as disastrous. I love things. I do. I can’t help it. I’ve even thrown out things, donated things, and given away things to a new home that we truly no longer need.

We have so much stuff. How did we get here?

I have come to the understanding, sadly, that we are “keepers” at our home. I wouldn’t call us hoarders. Hoarders end up on TV shows. “Keepers” seems to me the best way to describe our obsession with “We may need this later.”

And, does this happen at your house? When we finally do need it, we can’t find it for all the other its that are in the way.

It’s time to let it go.

Our house has become a storage room more than a home. I find it sad that God knew I needed an excuse. But, He gave me the best one ever!

So I am tackling minimalism with a renewed vigor. May God bless me on my journey and find homes for all these random items and pieces of paper. God, please help us!

Thanks for listening. 🙂

~Bohemian Christian Chelle

2 responses to this post.

  1. Excited for you!!!
    God is the best motivator lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

