The Simple Things – Adoption update

Hello, everyone!

I know it’s been a while since I blogged specifically about simple living, but as you may know, we’ve had a lot going on. My husband and I completed our month long PRIDE training as the first step with the Department of Family and Protective Services to adopt a beautiful child — or two — who are currently in foster care in the state of Texas. We graduated! Past our home visit (Praise the Lord!), and just yesterday successfully completed our Home Study, or as I call it, our interrogation. It was long (almost three hours), but it’s over and now…

We wait.

But, I don’t think we will have to wait too long. Our adoption worker said she would type everything up, submit it to her boss, and then we should receive the final word in two weeks.

I’m not worried.

Really.

Okay, maybe a little. Just because of the waiting. But, I will be okay.

And, as always, I have God to turn to and to fall on for comfort.

From the New International Version:
Present Suffering and Future Glory (Lovely heading, isn’t it?)

18 I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us. 19 For the creation waits in eager expectation for the children of God to be revealed. 20 For the creation was subjected to frustration, not by its own choice, but by the will of the one who subjected it, in hope 21 thatthe creation itself will be liberated from its bondage to decay and brought into the freedom and glory of the children of God.

22 We know that the whole creation has been groaning as in the pains of childbirth right up to the present time. 23 Not only so, but we ourselves, who have the firstfruits of the Spirit, groan inwardly as we wait eagerly for our adoption to sonship, the redemption of our bodies. 24 For in this hope we were saved. But hope that is seen is no hope at all. Who hopes for what they already have? 25 But if we hope for what we do not yet have, we wait for it patiently. (Romans 8:18-25 NIV, emphasis added.)

So, with Christ I will wait patiently nestled in His comforting arms waiting for our adoption to come to fruition. One thing that has come from this process is we cleaned out the house!

Boxes and boxes of stuff. Random, old, mismatched stuff now lives in the garbage dump, or — if re-usable — now has a new home at several of our local charity resale shops. I pray someone finds a treasure in my donated memories.

Our biggest undertaking was cleaning out what is now called the Kids’ Room. Formerly the junk/cat room/mom’s old office has now transformed into a little child’s room complete with books, a twin bed, and a desk full of stuff animals, puppets and waiting memories.

From trash heap to treasure room. Please disregard the three fish and the random lamp. 🙂

I thank God repeatedly for the generosity of our friends who came quite excitedly with beds, linens, comforters and everything we could ever need for the new addition to our household. I am truly blessed by everyone’s kindness. Thank you. You are true friends and encouragers. When I am down and disencouraged, your enthusiasm keeps me hopeful that everything will be soon. Thank you for that!

Simple living is truly simple. When I jumped into this head first, I for some reason thought it would be hard. The world’s tells you that. Change is difficult. Not really. This change was simple. And, I encourage you to do it, too.

The simple-living bug is upon me! I’ll be growing veggies and homesteading next. Watch out world! Bohemian Christian Chelle is unleashed!

Hallelujah!

Y’all be blessed today! And, keep it simple!

~Bohemian Christian Chelle

2 responses to this post.

  1. Ah, praying for God’s perfect will for you and Michael and future kids.
    What a sweet kid’s room.

    Reply

  2. Reblogged this on Christ-following Minimalist and commented:

    A blast from the past. Wow have things changed since this post. Sometimes God needs to remind us of our past prayers so we can realize how blessed we are in the present. My heart is full and grateful, Lord. THANK YOU!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

