I give you permission to…

My mother likes to clean. I remember growing up cleaning the house on Saturdays.

EVERY Saturday.

Now, in my thirties, I realize…

I ain’t my mama.

I hate to clean. I hate straightening a room. I abhor dusting more than I hate the dust currently collecting on my knick knacks.

I think that’s why I’m drawn to simple living. Less Stuff = Less Cleaning

I used to feel guilty about it: Not cleaning on the weekends. I never wanted a spotless house, but I thought I should want it clean. But, now I don’t care. My house is lived in. It’s comfy. It’s my stuff, and it’s as clean as I like it.

So today instead of cleaning, doing laundry, or making up excuses not to go outside, I left. I closed the door on my not-so-tidy home and ventured out and enjoyed the day guilt free.

I give you permission to do the same. Enjoy life. We only get one lifetime to do it.

Today I give you permission to leave that pile of clothes in the hamper, that dirty dish in the sink, that stack of papers on your desk, and do something fun, creative, joy-filled.

Unless you like to clean. ;o) Then have at it. I applaud you for it!

Simple living means enjoying the simple things. Breathe. Be. Love. Laugh. Enjoy.

Take care and God bless!

~Bohemian Christian Chelle

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by mom on January 16, 2012 at 11:29 am

    I think this is great advise. I am going to take it.

    mom

    Reply

Leave a Reply

