I have a problem, people! (Rantings from a Pack Rat)

So I’m on this minimalist kick. (If you haven’t noticed.) And, I have way too much stuff.

Hi, my name is Chelle, and I am a packrat.

WHY DO I LOVE MY STUFF SO MUCH?!?!?!?!?!

I have a love/hate relationship with my clutter. I sure do love keeping it, but I sure hate the space it takes up. I love my crafts, my yarn, my books, my more books. Did I mention I like books? I have a lot of books.

Breathe in. Breathe out.

I’m overwhelmed. Simple living should be simple.

Right?

So I turn to God for help. And, as always, He helps me.

19 “Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moths and vermin destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. 20 But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moths and vermin do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. 21 For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also. ~ Matthew 6:19-21, NIV

Okay, so I shouldn’t store up treasures on earth. But, one question:

Where is my heart?

What is important to me? What am I passionate about? God for sure. But, am I serving Him? Is what I’m doing glorifying His name?

I don’t think so. I really don’t. I need to pray about this.

Do I love my books more than people? Ouch. I think I do. BIG OUCH!

God didn’t put me here to love my stuff more than love His children. I’m all for reading and knowledge, but if my stacks of books fall over and pummel me to death, and I suffocate under my pile of things I love and knowledge what good is that?

Am I rambling?

Seriously?

So today, I am praying about what God wants from me. Not what I want from God. He is good.

I have a feeling I’ll be boxing up books to donate later tonight.

To God be the glory — and not my Christian fiction collection.

~Simple Living Bohemian Christian Chelle

3 responses to this post.

  1. It is hard to take our hands off our stuff. We like stuff. Stuff likes us. And together we are a mess.

    Good post, Chelle!

    Reply

    • Thank you so much, Patty!

      I guess that’s why Jesus himself had to tell us not to store up those “treasures.”

      What constitutes a treasure? The treasures I hold on to are so insignificant. I feel I hold on to things because I don’t trust God to provide them again when I need them.

      He knows EVERYTHING we need!

      Thanks for commenting, Patty! Be blessed!

      -Bohemian Christian Chelle

      Reply

  2. […] Simple Cleaning the Bohemian-Christian Way « I have a problem, people! (Rantings from a Pack Rat) […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

