Decluttering Battle #2 – Rantings of a Delusional Minimalist

I love books.

Big books.

Little Books.

Hardcover.

Softcover.

The Electronic versions.

I really love books. I love the smell of a new book and of a really old one. I love the sound of pages flipping. My mom tells stories of when I was young and instead of falling asleep with a stuffed animal like other little girls, I’d fall asleep with my favorite book in my arms.

I have a tendency to still do that today.

But, with this love of books comes the collection that I’ve acquired. And, with our move to the house we live in now comes the lack of space to store them.

What is a bibliophile to do?

So with the best intentions I went through two of my book shelves and probably 150 books. I looked through the fiction, and perused the non-fiction. Recognizing some titles and not having a clue how long I had others, I began to pull books off the shelf that needed a new home. It was gut wrenching. But, I’m opening up my world to the things God has for me — not the things that I feel I need to have around. So I started the pile. After praying and seeking, I made great strides with my minimalizing journey, and now I have a stack of 11 books to prove it! (Yes, I said 11. I know. I know, but 11 out of the 150 isn’t bad–at least for me.)

And, after I bravely gathered my 11 books to donate, my friend gave me a new book she’d thought I’d like.

It’s true. I like it. 🙂

Small steps, right?

At least I’m still here keeping simple living simple.

~Bohemian Christian Chelle

Leave a Reply

