When I’m asleep, the craziest things happen

I took a nap last Sunday. One of those eternal, sleep-deprived naps that feel like you go to another dimension melting away into the covers and disappearing from the world.

And, then I woke up. I fully expected my hubby to be asleep, or gaming, or playing the keyboard. But, this Sunday I got a surprise. My hubby did the wildest and craziest thing I could ever imagine while I slept the day away.

He gardened. šŸ™‚

Yes, Christ-following Minimalists, I do believe my husband is now on my self-sufficiency band wagon.

And, the best part: IT’S A MINIMALIST GARDEN!

Here’s the proof:

My Hubby's Minimalist Garden

In leftover plastic cups that we will never use, he made the sweetest little greenhouses to start

  • Kale
  • Purple tomatillos
  • Jalapeno peppers
  • Habanero peppers

My husband really likes peppers. šŸ™‚ And, if you like them too, they are the easiest thing I’ve found to grow, especially in our Texas heat. We can pretty much grow peppers year round in our yard either in the ground or in containers.

He has inspired me to go to the Heart of Texas Urban Gardening Coalition site (http://hotugc.org) and learn what else we can plant this time of year that will survive in our area.

I’m so excited! Something new to do! And, guess what?!?! The kale my hubby planted for me has already sprouted! I’m the proud mom of five little kale babies!

~Bohemian Christian Chelle

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by RedMami77 on February 16, 2012 at 9:04 pm

    I think this is genius! I am going to try his inspirational gardening ideas with K and L! But I think we will try using glass Mason jars. They are reusable so better for the environment!!! Yeah!!! I will post pics soon of our adventures!!!!

    Reply

    • Hey!

      Thank you so much for your comment! My husband can definitely be genius every so often. LOL

      I love your idea of glass mason jars! What a way to re-use! I would love to see pics and your thoughts when you do it.

      Livin’ simple,

      ~BCChelle

      Reply

Leave a Reply

