Making an Impact, or lack there of.

I’m gearing up for my first No Impact Week. I’ve never done this before, so like any other good bibliophile I’m reading the how-to manual that was available for download when I signed up for the week.

In years past, this week was  a set week on the calendar with publicity and the nation of participates being under No Impact Rule all at the same time. Now, it seems I can do it any time I choose.

This is the week I choose to do so. There are a few easy things to remember about the challenge:

  • Don’t freak out, become obsessive, or don’t do it because you can’t commit to all of it. – This is not a test. It’s hardly a challenge. The sole purpose of this week is to bring awareness to the amount of “stuff” we consume, purchase, throw away, waste and basically don’t need.
  • Do invite some friends and family to try it with you. – The whole point of this, like I said, is to spread awareness. Plus, everything is more fun and easier to stick to when you have a friend to drag along with you.
  • Do blog, vlog, tweet, post updates, mail letters, and/or comment below and tell others how it’s going.– Hey, we are on the Internet. We all want to know what everyone else is doing, whether you want to admit it or not.
  • Do discover ongoing ways to help be better stewards of our planet.

I’m excited to see what comes out of this week. Tomorrow is the first day. I have to focus on consumption, and see what I can live without for a week. I also have to save all of my trash for the Monday challenge. I refuse to read ahead to see what it is — the suspense and all.

Take care everybody! God bless!

~Bohemian Christian Chelle

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jerrilinn on February 20, 2012 at 5:45 pm

    love you Bohemian girl,
    I keep a basket in the back of the expedition and clothes that don’t fit or no longer being worn get washed and walked to the car, then tossed into the basket. While in town, when I happen to be in that area, I drive through Salvation Army where the staff come out to the car and pick up my belongings and leave me smile and a slip for a tax write off. It is a double win for us.

    Dave collects all aluminum cans and recycles them on earth day. Of course not everything can wait in the back of the car or keep like cans so I will be watching to learn what to do with items that can be given a new life. Thank you!

    Reply

    • Pastor J!!!! How are you? I love your idea if having a box in your car at all times. What an easy reason to get things out of the house. And, no excuse for not dropping it off! Lol

      Thanks for all you do for His children!

      -Bohemian Christian Chelle

      Reply

Leave a Reply

