My Lenten Challenge – Will you take it?

Clearing off my bookshelves. My first Lenten Challenge.

Today I went to a Lenten service. I haven’t been to an Ash Wednesday service in years. In fact, I don’t remember much about the last one I went to. So today, I went to the church I grew up in the town I was raised in, and I went back to my roots of kneeling, standing and sitting in Episcopal church. There’s just something about going home to the first place you met God, or at least remember meeting Him.

Today is the first day of Lent. A season of “giving up.” But, why? Why do we give up? All these years of Lent, and I have no idea why we “Lent.” Is it for what God gave up for us? That He sent His son to die for our sins? That after 40 days of giving up whatever we give up, we rejoice on Easter Sunday as our Savior rises from the grave?

Today I prayed about Lent. Is there something I’m holding on to that I need to get rid of? Something I, too, should give up?

As I sat in the quiet of the church, one word came to mind. One word that I’ve been holding on to for way to long. One word that is the whole reason I started this blog.

Stuff.

My stuff. My stuff that I can’t get rid of, the books that I hang on to that I will never read, the clothes that I don’t necessarily need but I can’t stand the thought of getting rid of because I am too lazy to wash.

As I sat and prayed today, God said it was time to get rid of my stuff.

That is what I intend to do.

The Challenge:

I will box up all of my books. I will choose five books that I would keep. Basically, the “if I was on a desert island and could only have five books” books. (I’d hyphenate that, but I figure it would be too confusing.)

For the next 40 days, I will see if I need any of the books. If I do, I will write the name of the book down and prayfully consider retrieving the book from the sealed box on Easter afternoon after church.

If I do not use any of the books, then hasta la vista, baby! You are outta here! I will donate the ones that no longer need tying me down.

My guess: I won’t miss any of them. Not one single book.

So, here goes. Wish me luck. Say a prayer for strength. And, join me on my minimalist journey. Is there something that you are holding on to that you know God wants you free from? Pray about today and listen to His leading. His answers are simple.

1 Timothy 6:6-9 (NIV)

 6 But godliness with contentment is great gain. 7 For we brought nothing into the world, and we can take nothing out of it. 8 But if we have food and clothing, we will be content with that. 9 Those who want to get rich fall into temptation and a trap and into many foolish and harmful desires that plunge people into ruin and destruction.

God bless!

~Bohemian Christian Chelle

5 responses to this post.

  1. Good post, Chelle!
    I like your writing. You have a nice conversational voice.

    Stuff – ugh, it’s like dust. Don’t know where it comes from but it reappears as fast as you can get rid of it.

    Reply

    • Thank you so much, Patty! I deeply appreciate you saying that.

      Stuff is totally like dust! I could sit in my house and not go anywhere and I’d still accumulate junk. LOL

      Thanks for the comment!

      ~Bohemian Christian Chelle

      Reply

  2. […] Simple Cleaning the Bohemian-Christian Way « My Lenten Challenge – Will you take it? […]

    Reply

  3. […] few weeks ago I posted my Lenten Challenge. I dared to blog it for all the world to see. In need of accountability, I’m letting […]

    Reply

  4. […] as like my book battle during lent, I got a trash bag and started bagging ‘em […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

