No Impacting, Lenten Challenges and Eco-Sabbaths

It’s been a busy week.

Between being conscious of my trash making, recycling, starting My Lenten Challenge, monitoring my electricity usage, attempting to make my family not impact, and taking care of sick pets, I’ve barely had time for anything else.

Yesterday was Water Day of No Impact Week. I’ve always tried really hard to watch my water usage. So, yesterday I was somewhat ahead of the game. To go an extra step, I saved the extra water I boiled when I made dish soap, and saved it to water plants when it cooled. Another way to re-use gray water is to use the water that you soak your dishes in to water your plants. You can also turn the water off while you are brushing your teeth or shaving, and take shorter showers. These are just a few easy things you can do to reduce your footprint and also reduce your water bill.

On to My Lenten Challenge:

It took me three days to box up my books. Not because of the amount of books, but because boxing up my stuff is hard. It was much harder than I thought. I guess that’s why God made me do it. I will finish today and seal it up. The other problem I’m having is keeping only five books. But, that is what I’m supposed to do so I will do it! On a side note: a few of my books belong to other people. So, I’m not going to box them up, but I will return them to the people they belong to.

This is hard.

But, with God, ALL things are possible. So I will listen and obey.

Tomorrow is Eco-Sabbath along with the true Sabbath. I don’t know what y’all do on the Sabbath, but I go to church and do nada if possible. Well, except maybe nap. But, God rested and so will I. For No Impact Week, they ask that we go an extra step and not use electricity, phones, anything that uses resources for however long you choose, be that one hour or for the entire day. We can do this, people! It’s the last day!

For today’s No Impact, we are to pay it forward. From the manual:

“Make a list with three columns: 1) all the charities you’d love to help out, 2) why you feel you can’t, and 3) how you can address and remove those barriers.”

We are also to find ways to be kind to one another. Open a door for a stranger. Take your neighbors their newspaper. Just be kind. Sometimes being kind to our family members is way harder than being kind to a stranger. Consider that today.

1 Timothy 6:6-8 (NIV)

6 But godliness with contentment is great gain. 7 For we brought nothing into the world, and we can take nothing out of it. 8 But if we have food and clothing, we will be content with that.

Thanks for listening today. I’d love to hear how you are doing so please comment below.

To God be the glory,

~Bohemian Christian Chelle

Leave a Reply

