Getting rid of stuff…the Challenge continues

A few weeks ago I posted my Lenten Challenge. I dared to blog it for all the world to see. In need of accountability, I’m letting y’all in on my secrets of simple living and the thrill I have when items that no longer serve a purpose leave my home.

I have a lot of updates to share with you.

First: We were approved for our adoption! And ever since I have been “nesting”. Be it the anticipation of motherhood, or the Lord preparing me quickly for our bundle or two of joy (we were approved for two children), I am throwing stuff into our donation box at break-neck speed. Never before have I had this sense of hurry in the process. My typical demeanor is to procrastinate until I convince God and myself that I will use this later. But not now.Ā  I’m getting rid of everything. The books that I deemed so important are not important at all now. In fact, the close to 200 I removed from the shelves in our bedroom have hardly been thought of since I stacked them in their Lenten Challenge Box. I even made a bag that is definitely ending up at our church’s library. Now just to get that bag in the car…

Please be in prayer for our children.

Second: I am appalled at how much stuff I have. I’ve been reading a lot about adoptive children, especially those coming from Family and Protective Services. Did you that their foster families are encouraged to make Life Books for each child that move with them to each new placement? In most cases, this Life Book is the only heirloom the child has as it goes from place to place. It reminds me of the heart locket in the musical Annie. The little girl held on to that locket with all she had — the only thing she had left from a life and family she never knew.

It makes me sad to think about the pointless things that I am holding on to. Clothes never worn. Books never read.

It’s time to come clean.

I came across this blog today, and it fascinated me. The writer did a “One Dress Challenge” to protesting “the protesting of why and how” she wears her clothes. I just found this blog, and she just recently finished her 365 days, so you better believe I will be returning to check out her journey.

So for now, my books are still packed, my donation box is growing, and God is well on His way to bringing me our babies.

Life is good. šŸ™‚Ā  What did you give up for Lent? Post how it’s going below.

Be blessed and simplify.

~Bohemian Christian Chelle

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by maria on March 12, 2012 at 2:59 pm

    Oh what a blessing Our Lord has given you and your husband! He will use everything at His disposal to show us where we have gone astray.

    Your journey is so encouraging. Now that you have been approved, your are getting your home ready for the new arrivals. How wonderful they are going to feel when they walk into an uncluttered space.

    Congratulations! May Our Lord continue to give you the peace and wisdom as you go through this new season of your life – as new parents! šŸ™‚

    m.

    Reply

    • Maria,

      Thank you so much for your encouragement and your kind words. I so appreciate you commenting. God is definitely putting an urgency in my heart to simplify and remove things that no longer serve me — and most importantly, Him.

      Have a blessed day!

      ~BC Chelle

      Reply

Leave a Reply

