Books in boxes, stacks of stuff and this whole minimalist thing

Oh my goodness.

Even with all this work simplifying, we still have so much stuff! I simply can’t believe the amount of stuff in our little area in our house. I keep giving things away, and it’s like the blob around here, it just keeps replenishing itself. I am drowning in a sea of stuff. Is it like this for everyone? Is it just our house? Do we have some weird force multiplying all of our stuff so we work and work and it never goes anywhere?

Oh why won’t it do that to our money?!?!?!  WHY?!?!?!?!?!?

Okay, enough venting.

As you may recall, for my Lenten Challenge, I boxed up roughly 200 of my books on the first day of Lent and am leaving them in the box until 1pm on Easter Sunday. If I haven’t thought about a book, really need a book, or can’t live without a book in the box between now and Easter Sunday it is Hasta la vista, baby! with my best Arnold Schwarzenegger accent.

So far, I actually needed one book and wrote on the box the title of two books so far that I’d really like to keep.

That’s three books out of 200. I’m well on my way to a simpler life. Really.

It’s actually been very freeing to look at my empty book shelves, to imagine what I may do with them once Easter Sunday is over and all those books are gone, and whether I can stand parting with them too along with the books.

Why is getting rid of stuff so hard? Maybe that is why Jesus devotes a section to it in Matthew 6:

19 “Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moths and vermin destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. 20 But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moths and vermin do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. 21 For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

“Where your heart will be also.” Wow. What a statement. My heart is with those books. With these book cases. With these stacks of paper that I haven’t looked at in three years but “I have to keep” for some reason. It’s time to let them all go. I want my heart to be with Jesus and nothing else.

To my stuff I declare Hasta la vista, baby!

Arnold Swarzanegger eat your heart out. ;o)

To God be the glory!

~Bohemian Christian Chelle

Leave a Reply

