Smartphone, oh smartphone! How I love thee, oh smartphone!

I heart my smartphone. If I could take a picture of my smartphone with my smartphone, I would. It’s one of my dearest friends. It entertains me anytime. It brings me good news, funny pictures, tweets, Facebook updates, and the occasional calendar reminder of where I need to be next. And, when I don’t feel like being social, it quietly waits on silent until I wish to retrieve it. So loyal.

I realized I have a problem. I spend more time with  my phone than with people. Sad. But, I’m sure I’m not the only one.

Do you remember the days we used to just sit and wait in a waiting room? Maybe chit chatting with a person next to us? Or, catching up on magazine articles? Or, simply . . . waiting?

I do.

I’ve noticed a lot lately how preoccupied we are. How instead of talking with the people we are with, we — I — repeatedly check our phones for the latest comment, “like,” or email. Now I don’t think anything is wrong with having a phone that makes it easier for me to check my emails on the go, and communicate with my family and friends, but when it preoccupies my time so much that I can’t not look at it, it’s not just a smartphone, it becomes an addiction.

From this day on I refuse to be addicted to my smartphone. And, I apologize to anyone I’ve ever been rude to by doing it.

So, after discovering this about myself today, I’ve come up with a few simple-living, cell-phone-addiction-busting strategies to help me get back to what matters — people. REAL people.

Strategy #1:  I will leave my phone in my purse or on vibrate in my pocket while I am with someone, and actually be with them. I will no longer place it on the table in front of me or anywhere it can be a distraction. Connecting and fellowship is what God intended when He created Eve for Adam. We need each other.

Strategy #2: I will actually call people on the phone instead of texting them. Does this make me officially old? That I want to hear my friends’ voices instead of reading their grammatically and spelling-corrupted text messages.  wudnt u 2?

Don’t worry. I will still text people. At times, it is the only way to go. But, I will make a conscious effort to hear my friends’ voices from time to time.

Strategy #3: I don’t seem to have a Strategy #3, but since most blog posts and how-tos always have three options, I felt obligated to at least mention a #3.

Anyway…

Will I be writing letters next? Oh, probably. At least when I call you asking for your address, you know what I’m up to.

Kickin’ it old school tonight,

~Bohemian Christian Chelle

Could you live a day, a week, or a month without your cell phone? Really? Please share with us below.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by maria on April 12, 2012 at 8:47 pm

    Yes, I can…now the computer? that is another story 🙂
    m.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

