It’s time to let things go…

My husband and I have lived in our “new” living arrangement now for almost four years. We came from the big city with a three bedroom/two bath house with the two garage car and a hefty and unmanageable mortgage.

When God moved us back to my hometown, I didn’t know what to expect. Our plan: to build our own home. In the meantime, we would live in my childhood home that my mother still lives in. The three of us would make it through until we were settled in jobs and able to purchase our house.

Along the way, things have changed.

I didn’t mean for them to. At first it was out of necessity. We simply couldn’t get our act together. Jobs were elusive. Bills backed up. Way too many of you understand what I’m talking about.

But now, I simply don’t want it. I don’t want the bills. I don’t want to clean it. I don’t want the understanding that if anything should happen like a job loss or an illness, we would lose the house and the land that we worked so hard to maintain.

We’ve decided to stay where we are. To make family more important. To make it work out where we can work less and love more.

My husband and I live in a little over half of a 1,700-square-foot home. We have the front living room, two bedrooms and a bathroom. And, we have too much stuff. For years I’ve held on to it saying, “One day we will have our own home. We will need it then.”

We won’t need it. And, times and fashions have changed. It’s time to let it all go. I crave to live simply in my smaller space. I don’t want junk to clean. I don’t want an overburdened amount of clothes to wash. i don’t want a mortgage! To me, these things take away from the things that truly matter — from the things God put me on this earth to do. I intend to do what God created me to do. I need time and space to do that.

It is time to make that happen. It’s time to let things go.I refuse to be a slave to my stuff!

What do I really need to survive? What can you absolutely not live without? Please comment by hitting the comment link above. I’d love to hear about it! I will confess, I am holding on to my Scooby-Doo adult-sized house slippers. They ain’t going anywhere! Because they make me happy. šŸ™‚

Learning to only keep the things that matter,

~Bohemian Christian Chelle

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by maria on May 8, 2012 at 7:27 pm

    This week, as soon as it stops raining, I am purging the last of what I have held to as tightly as I could…all of my old dreams and the ‘some days’.

    The tables, the fabric, the patterns, the books, the tea sets…everything is leaving, because it is time to say goodbye to a tomorrow that is not here yet.

    I know that My God will provide all that my family needs when the time comes, meanwhile, letting go is so beneficial and freeing!

    Go for it and enjoy the process šŸ™‚

    m.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

