A Minimalist and Her Shoes – A Tragic Love Story

Oh, what Shakespeare would have to say about the love I have for my shoes. My beloved shoes. My shoes that match my skirts. My shoes for every form of weather. My shoes that I NEVER WEAR!

An Ode to My Love of Shoes

An Ode to My Love of Shoes

I’ve been horribly ill since Friday. Coughing, sneezing, stuffy head…you get the idea. I’ve hardly moved from our bed since Friday evening. All that time spent staring at the junk in your bedroom gives cause for new minimalist revelations.

I have too many shoes.

Oh, why did I have to get sick???? Only to stare at my shoe tree and notice that I wear only a portion of the shoes I chose to keep. DANG YOU, CHEST COLD!

So I began bargaining with God. I really do wear that pair of cute, brown bowling shoes. I do! I need those flip flops! They have the logo of my favorite college team on them! Okay, so they’ve never been on my feet since I don’t like flip flops, but I may need them!!!!!   Ahhhhh, the last ditch phrase of a recovering pack rat.

So, as like my book battle during lent, I got a trash bag and started bagging ’em up.

Good bye, flip flops.

Good bye, really expensive pair of shoes I bought 6 years ago but never wear.

Good bye, cheap slip-on wedges just because.

In a compromise (Don’t judge me.) I put all of my shoes except the five pairs I actually wear pretty much on a  weekly basis, into a trash bag, and in one month, I will donate the pairs I never think about and pray about keeping those I do.

Woooooo

This is hard stuff. When I started on this journey, I had no idea it would be like this. Excruciating. I thought I’d get rid of most of my things and this minimalist journey would be over. But, God has another plan. Not storing up treasures on earth goes much deeper than I thought. We are on a bare-bones minimalist journey now. And, you know what?

I’m loving it.

I’m breathing a little easier now. I thought it was because my cold was going away. But, maybe it’s because I have less to worry about on my chest. 🙂

God loves us. He wants the best for us. And, that means getting rid of our worldly clutter so we can focus more on Him.

He is way more important to me than any pair of shoes.

Be blessed this week.

~Bohemian Christian Chelle

4 responses to this post.

  1. Ah, the shoe thing. Don’t have that one, but as I sit in my office surrounded by books and stuff, well. someday

    Reply

  2. Posted by maria on June 17, 2012 at 5:00 pm

    you never finish getting rid of stuff in your life…either materials or non…

    I like the nail polish 🙂

    m.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

