Blinded By the Light

Drawn to the Light

I must be in musical blogging mode, but I’m greatly inspired by life right now. And, everything is a song.

Maybe it’s because I’m a musician. Maybe it’s because I’m creative. But, always and in every way I am seeing God in the “every day.”  Isn’t that how He’d want me to see it?

Today, for the first time, I noticed something about the tomato plant on my front porch. I planted it in a pot that hangs it upside down. Beautiful tomatoes are to grow dangling from my pretty terracotta pot. I followed the instructions. I allowed the plant to root itself before I flipped it. Yet, I noticed something today. Besides the fact that it refuses to grow down, let alone grow tomatoes…

It’s growing toward the light. A tiny shaft of light beaming down from a hole in our porch’s roof.

John 8:12
When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”

We all want the light. We may think we want the darkness. We may think that the darkness is fun, or exciting, or wow.

But, in the end…we all want the light.

The world is a very dark place. Unrighteousness reigns. Let’s admit it. TV watchers crave dysfunctional families, inappropriate relationships, vengeful reality shows, and competition, competition, competition. Do I really need to mention video games?

Please stop reaching for the darkness.

Stretch toward the light. The faithful light of Christ. Even if all you see right now is a tiny little shaft.

I was under the delusion that the darkness was more fun. The parties. The booze. The men. I’m a product of bad influences. I truly believed that this was a way of life. I was so deceived.

Reaching for the darkness is so temporary. So meaningless.

But the light…the light is eternal.

Matthew 25:40-50 (NIV)

40 “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’41 “Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you who are cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. 42 For I was hungry and you gave me nothing to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me nothing to drink, 43 I was a stranger and you did not invite me in, I needed clothes and you did not clothe me, I was sick and in prison and you did not look after me.’ 44 “They also will answer, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or needing clothes or sick or in prison, and did not help you?’ 45 “He will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did not do for one of the least of these, you did not do for me.’ 46 “Then they will go away to eternal punishment, but the righteous to eternal life.”

I crave eternal life. The worthlessness of the dark ate my life for 10 years. I have nothing to show for it but regrets, shameful memories, and wasted time.

But now, EVERYTHING is different. The love of the Lord and the Light of Christ has enveloped me, purified me, and healed me. I am a new creation. And, with Christ, so are you.

Retreat from the darkness and soar into the light. God is with you ready to catch and restore. He loves you. Let Him.

Be blinded by His light.

In His name,
~Bohemian Christian Chelle

Leave a Reply

