Stuff, stuff and my lack of stuff

Along with MinCamp (www.minimalistparenting.com), I’ve been praying about Project 333. I really want to do this. It is so freeing to me to only have a few items of clothing. Most significantly, my freedom does not seem to stem from fewer decisions to make, or to maximize my wardrobe, but it seems to stem from one thing…

I hate laundry.

Oh, to only have one load of laundry and all of my laundry would be done. I may even settle for one load of whites, one load of colors, and a load of towels.

Oh, to simplicity.

I think I will do it. I will start with the towels. How many towels does a person need anyway? Do I need a washcloth for every day of the week? Germaphobes need not answer this question. LOL

Off to assess my towel situation.

~Bohemian Christian Chelle

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by disappearingvapor on March 15, 2013 at 10:44 am

    Hi Chelle,
    Well, it may be easier for me because it is only my husband and I now. What I have done to reduce laundry is: I began just throwing our clothes into the washer as we remove them instead of a hamper…For some reason hubby can open a washer lid, but not a hamper lid, LOL!
    This will only work well, however if you are willing to trade out your whites for colors instead (including towels and washcloths). Since you cannot mix whites with colors.
    Also, we each have only two bathtowels, and share four hand towels. Of course, you also have to be willing to use bathroom cleaner without bleach in order to avoid accidently messing your colored towels up. I personally do not miss all the whites, and laundry is so much easier now…totally worth it.

    Reply

    • Posted by disappearingvapor on March 15, 2013 at 10:46 am

      P.S: I AM a germaphobe!

      Reply

    • That sounds wonderful!!! I like the idea of immediately putting everything in the washer. I wish we could do that here. One day!

      Just downsizing the towels has made a huge difference in my sanity. We have two towels a piece, around four hand towels, and maybe eight wash clothes. I haven’t officially counted the smaller towels. I still separate the colors from the white — not sure why though since they are all towels. LOL

      Love your insights! Please comment often. You have great ideas!

      Be blessed!

      ~Bohemian Christian Chelle

      Reply

  2. I am amused that you are concerned about towels. I use one towel all week as well as one washcloth and I’ve never thought twice about it! Good luck!!

    Reply

    • Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! For only using one towel! I cut back to two, so if I need to wipe up the floor or don’t have time to wash, I have a new clean one to use if mine gets a little funky.

      Thank you so much for your comment! I look forward to checking out your blog.

      Be blessed!

      ~Chelle

      Reply

Leave a Reply

