Beware the Slithering Clutter

We all have it. That clutter that just won’t leave. That clutter that slithers its way back into our lives and our closets.

Today, we will send that clutter slithering to someone else’s home!

Yesterday, on day #5 of MinCamp (I’m sure it’s not too late to sign up – www.minimalistparenting.com.) Something the authors wrote hit me in the face like being smacked by a kangaroo.

The day’s tasks consisted of decluttering with Step 3 being:

When the bag is full, take it directly to your car. This is crucial. Items destined for donation but still in sight have a way of creeping back into the house.”

Oh, wow, they do! Especially when my now five year old runs by, stops, proclaims “MINE!?!??” with a new-found joy for a toy or item of clothing she’s obviously forgotten about, and swiftly absconds with the once-meant-for-donation item back to her room.

She’s sneaky that five year old. She and the clutter seem to be working against me.

I’d always heard about the parenting skill of “disappearing” stuff. And, boy does it work! Especially when she goes to preschool for half a day. Now, I just have to learn to hide things a little better.;)

So my task for today — though it may seem small to some — is to take all of my meant-for-donation items and put them in the trunk of our car beyond slithering reach and little girl eyes.

Then, I can wipe my hands of the pile in my foyer.

Now, the next task begins: to actually take it to the thrift store and not allow it to ride around in the trunk for six months. LOL I know. I’m new at this. One step at a time, right?

Stopping slithering stuff and perfecting the art of “disappearing,”

~Bohemian Christian Chelle

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by maria on March 8, 2013 at 5:45 pm

    I try so hard to send everything to the trunk of the car right away. Not easy but it has to be done! Congratulations on your journey 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by disappearingvapor on March 15, 2013 at 10:18 am

    Hi there,
    Our 3 daughters are all grown up now with houses of their own. When they were little, they all three had to (gasp!) share a bedroom, so we had to keep the clutter to a minimum.
    I recently came across a tiny field guide to birds that is dated 1919. It was a birthday gift to a twelve year old girl, and by the looks of it she must have really treasured it. It made me think about how past generations appreciated and cared for their things because they did not have so much.
    I think it is important for our children to learn to love what they have, and that likely won’t happen if they have too much “stuff”.
    ~God bless~ and good luck with your decluttering mission!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

