Cold-hearted and Ruthless

“Anything you cannot relinquish when it has outlived its usefulness possesses you, and in this materialistic age a great many of us are possessed by our possessions.” – Peace Pilgrim

This quote was posted recently on BecomingMinimalist.com. 

I haven’t seen a quote by Peace Pilgrim online lately –maybe not at all. I was pleased to see it. Ms. Pilgrim is a true testament of God’s love and mission. A minimalist. A lover of people. I truster of God.

And, in her few words, she said it all. We serve God or money. I also translate money as “stuff.” Money buys stuff, right? When we are weighted down by our stuff we can’t live. It becomes baggage: Physical, emotional, and spiritual. We have to get rid of our stuff.

So the other day, I straightened up our living room to find one of our cats had pooped — yes, pooped — on a stack of papers I was “storing” on top of our ottoman. Thanks, guys.

But, you know what? I evidently didn’t need any of the pooped-stained papers since I threw them all away. And, I took it quite literally to mean that I need to get my poop together. I am a “storer” of stuff. Embarrassingly keeping papers that I never need because I may need them one day.

I am getting rid of stuff. Ruthlessly. Cold-hearted elimination of stuff. It is the only thing left to do. We have to be ruthless. If not, the stuff creeps back into our lives. It slithers back into our closets, our worlds. It weighs us down and owns us, not the other way around.

Today, be ruthless. Be cold hearted. What is one thing that you are holding on to that is owning YOU and weighing you down? Donate it. Trash it. Get rid of it. Whatever you need to do for freedom, do it. It is your life. Own it.

Be blessed and free.

~Bohemian Christian Chelle

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by maria on March 12, 2013 at 5:34 pm

    I did this…once. Then ‘stuff’ came back in both physically and emotionally. I am redoing this exercise and praying that I’ll stay the course. Thanks so much for sharing. m.

    Reply

    • It is SO easy to let it slither back in. I know! I am taking a load right now to a charity resale shop just to get it out of my house before I have the “Oh, I might need this one day!” conversation with myself.

      But I continue on. One stuff-ridding step at a time. 🙂

      Thank you so much for your comment, m. I appreciate you.

      Be blessed!

      ~Bohemian Christian Chelle

      Reply

Leave a Reply

