Frustration – The fruit of not listening

ant

I don’t handle stress like I used to.

I used to think I could work in an ER. The hustle and bustle. The ever changing. The not knowing what may happen next.

Not any more.

I am mundane and boring. And, I love it. I love nothing on my calendar. I love spending time in the garden. I love to sit and breathe.

Life is frustrating. I look out my window and see the dreariness of a Thursday. Not even the trees are moving. That is how I feel today, too.

It’s gray and quiet and still. That is how I need to be today. Sometimes the best things happen in the stillness.

Be still and know that I am God.~Psalm 46:10

God doesn’t need us milling around like ants to get His job done. Just be. Be with Him and in Him at all times, regardless of what is going on around you. I’ve been reading a book by Mother Teresa. It speaks of the quietness she had with God, and how important silence was to her. Not outward silence, but inward silence. The inner silence of listening for His leading. Of keeping your mouth and heart shut and allowing Him to speak to you, through you and in you. He knows best.

God has chosen us to be His children. He has chosen us for His good work. Allow Him to possess your thoughts today.

Are you doing what He wants you to do? Are you living the life He created for you?

When you surrender to God, everything falls into place. I used to never believe this. But, it’s true. He rules. He knows what’s best. Listen to Him. He will guide and direct your path.

I have too many things on my plate because I wasn’t listening. Time to reevaluate and pray about what I am truly here for. I only want His will. But, sometimes my “Oh! That sounds fun.” overrides His will.

Just because it’s fun, doesn’t mean it’s God’s will.

His yoke is easy, and His burden is light (Matthew 11:30). When I get stressed, I’m not living to His full potential for me. I give all my busy-ness back to Him. It wasn’t mine to take in the first place.

Back to square one with a breath of relief. What can you take out of your calendar today? Do it. 😉

~Bohemian Christian Chelle

Leave a Reply

