Living in Community

Living in Community. Could you handle it?

I mean really? Could you — would you — invite people into your home to live life together? With today’s world, we live in separate spaces. We have our “outside lives” and our “inside lives” conveniently tucked away from prying eyes.

But, is this how Jesus intended it?

I feel an Acts research project coming on. 🙂

But, from my somewhat limited knowledge, I do know that the disciples worked together  to live, love and pass on the teachings of Christ. So, I too wish to live in community with fellow disciples.

What I feel this does NOT mean:

  • Only seeing each other on Sundays and in passing.
  • Not inviting people over to my house because it’s dusty or dirty or cluttered or stinky. (I hope it’s not stinky :/)
  • Not allowing people in to my world.
  • Keeping myself and my life isolated.
  • Focusing too much on the “what if’s” instead of loving God’s children.

It’s time to be deliberate. It’s time to open my world up to God’s children and allow them in to know the true me. It’s so hard though. I feel as a society we are programmed to stay in our little cubbies behind closed doors and pulled drapes. But, why is this? I crave community. I crave big dinners. I crave lively conversation. I crave love and life and happiness. I crave communion with Jesus and his disciples.

The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.~John 10:10

Be warned. You will be invited over for dinner soon. 🙂 Jesus promised life to the full, and I receive it!

Getting out the pots and pans…

~Bohemian Christian Chelle

Leave a Reply

