Scripture of the Day – Proverbs 15:27 (MSG)

Proverbs 15:27(MSG)

27 A greedy and grasping person destroys community;
those who refuse to exploit live and let live.

3 responses to this post.

  1. That’s an interesting version – I like how down to earth it is. Live and let live, that’s good. Chelle, I like this but I find myself wanting to understand the difference between greed and say, ambition for instance.

    If I have the ambition to work hard to provide for my family, that’s generally seen as a good thing, but at what point does it become greed? After the typical 3 bedroom 2 bath upgrades to 4? or 5? 6? Maybe when the ’91 Honda becomes a 2013 Audi?

    It’s a hard concept to grasp – what do you think?

    Reply

    • I LOVE your comment! To me, ambition is wonderful. It keeps you striving. It brings about change. It blesses people.

      Greed is completely different. And, it all comes down to the heart behind the actions, which in truth, only God knows.

      Are you using your ambition to better the lives of your children? Spouse? Community? (Hey, we all want a nice car!)

      Or, are you striving for more money to show off? Make your neighbors jealous? Or, so you can brag about the next new thing you bought?

      This makes the difference to me.

      Thank you for making me think! I needed that. 😉

      Be blessed! And, thanks so much for commenting!

      ~BC_Chelle

      Reply

      • That’s very insightful, thanks Chelle! A matter of heart – this makes sense to me.

        You’re welcome, and you too! I’ll drop in again later (:

        -Josh

Leave a Reply

