Heat, Worship Bands and 1,000 Square Feet

Today we sat out in the heat for six hours listening to worship bands.

It was wonderful! Really. I love music. I love worshiping Jesus. And, I especially love supporting my husband while he praises. (He’s an anointed musician.)

But, as I worshiped and sweated, one thing plagued my thoughts: 1,000 square feet.

Let me tell you I was surprised. Why, in the middle of a heat-soaked day, did I keep thinking about 1,000 square feet?

You see, my husband, daughter and I live in about 1,000 square feet. To read all about here, click here.

We originally lived in a three-bedroom, two-bath house in North Texas. We’ve been paying for storage units to house the stuff — the immense amounts of stuff we planned on using when we built a new home in Central Texas. If you’ve been following our minimalist journey, you know that we chose to live in community with family instead of getting a mortgage so I can now stay home with our daughter.

But, one thing has plagued me today: We still have immense amounts of stuff.

We’ve been cleaning out the storage units in an attempt to save money. Why, oh why, should I pay to store STUFF!?!? It’s mind boggling to me. Society has told us we need so much stuff that we can’t fit all of our stuff in our houses.

Ridiculous.

So, I’ve been going through box after box this week. My minimalist kitchen in now a pack-rats haven filled with boxes and crumpled newspaper. If I was a rat, I’d be in heaven all cozy in my mess.

I hate it.

I think that’s why I was so plagued today but our 1,000 square feet. We still have so much stuff. What more can I give away?

A lot more, evidently. It’s so disheartening. I’ve been on this path for so long. Will I ever see the minimalist end?

I guess I’m back to being ruthless. But, I like stuff. At least some stuff. Too much stuff gives me grief.

Will it ever end?

~Bohemian Christian Chelle

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Redmami77 on June 2, 2013 at 9:33 am

    Garage sale!!!!!!! Lol I’d come pilfer through your stuff lol!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

