Too…much…stuff. Four Reminders for Downsizing

I’ve been on my so-called minimalist journey for over 140 posts now. As I post, I’m continuously insprired by others who are on this minimalist journey. I couldn’t make it without their wisdom, encouragement and constant inspiration.

Thank you.

But, I have too much stuff still. Does that make me a minimalist?

No.

But, wanting a minimalist mindset and lifestyle does.

So I will persevere. Treading deeper and deeper into these simple living,  minimalist waters that others have so bravely mapped out for me. But, it’s hard. It’s still hard to get rid of my stuff. The things I may wear someday. That dress that I really want to fit into now, but I don’t. The cute figurines. The flirty tops, and the ever present trinkets that are clouding my life. It’s time to let them go, again.

I want freedom and joy.

I’ve come up with some guidelines I live by to de-stuff our home. These four simple rules may help you, too. So, here they are…

If it doesn’t bring you joy, get it of your house NOW. Be particular about your stuff. Does it make you happy? Does it remind you of your favorite vacation or your most beloved aunt. Then keep it without regrets. I’ve noticed this about myself. But, now I’m harsh. If I don’t absolutely love it, it must go. I must make room for sanity and for the things I DO love.

Could someone else use it right now? If I only use it once a year, but someone else would use it everyday, then why am I keeping it to myself and letting it collect dust? Maybe my friend I give it to will allow me to use it that one time I need it? Now that’s a deal. It now serves it’s intended purpose,  allows me to declutter my world, and creates much needed community.

Recycle it, Re-use it, or get rid of it. Nuff said. There are plenty of ways to get rid of our stuff. The curb (not for trash but for other’s to pick up. Ex. TV’s  and old grills.). A non-profit organization’s thrift store. A food pantry’s clothes closet. Your neighbors, friends and family. Or, even online with Craiglist and Freecycle. Allow your stuff to be a blessing to someone. It’s freeing and good for the soul.

Don’t allow others generosity to create more stuff and clutter. Family and friends are a valuable resource when you don’t want to spend money on clothes. And, recently, my dear friends weight loss has blessed me with a fabulous new wardrobe. All FREE! But, I don’t need all of it. Or, it created duplicate pieces. (How many black shirts do I really need?) Pass along any blessings to others. And, congratulate your friend on his/her weight loss triumph!

As I read these four things, I am again inspired to clean. LOL Praise God for that! I’m going through Little Girl clothes right now. God has truly blessed us. Not only with a great little girl, but with friends and family who continuously supply us with cute clothes in all sizes.

God is a God of abundance. That’s for sure.

Be blessed, joy-filled and FREE!

~Bohemian Christian Chelle

One response to this post.

  1. Great reminders! Thank you for sharing and encouraging.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

