3 Things You Can Do to Start Simplifying NOW

It’s been a long time since we chatted. Little Girl started school, and I am so blessed to have such a fun and smart kindergartener. I know I’m biased, but one day I will be able to share more about our adoption story and actually get to tell you some details. That day is coming soon, PRAISE GOD!

As soon as I can share, I will. If you’d like a sneak peek into our now princess-pink world, check out a post from the archives — 8 Things I’ve Learned From a 4 year old.

Today I want to chat with you about stuff. That dreaded five-letter word that sends minimalist packing their bare necessities and heading for the hills.

I noticed this summer just how very much stuff we have….and, how hard it is to get rid of it. I have problems getting rid of stuff. I will admit it. I’m not scared to share my minimalism struggles. This isn’t easy. I am attached to my stuff. Are you?

For today, let’s be honest. I will make it as easy and straightforward as I can. And, then I will read it myself and go do it! HA!

Three things you can do to start simplifying NOW

 

1.       Detach from your stuff

Sometimes instead of owning our stuff, our stuff owns us. It’s true. Great Aunt Sarah gave us that lamp four years ago when she was cleaning out HER garage, and we’ve kept it because:

a.       Great Aunt Sarah will die one day and this will be our memory.

b.      It’s uglier than sin and doesn’t match anything we own, but….see Letter A.

I know it’s hard. Step #1 might as well be a 400-foot hurdle. But, as much as I love my family and friends, if I absolutely do not love the item they gave me, I must get it out of our home. We don’t have room for extraneous gifts. I’ve noticed that there is so much extra stuff in our home that I’m embarrassed to have people over.

Instead of hoarding other people’s stuff for them, why not hoard time with them?

 2.       Get rid of your stuff

Box it up. Donate it. Recycle it. Give it to someone else to hoard…I mean love it. Allow yourself to let it go. Put it in the car. But, don’t just leave it in your trunk to ride around with you. I know this from experience.

3.       Don’t get more stuff.

As soon as I get rid of stuff, more stuff seems to appear. Whether it’s good-hearted friends passing it along or simply a great bargain, please use self control and mindfulness before bringing new items into your home.

 

Do I need it?

Will I die without it?

Is it something I’ve always wanted?

 

Of course we all like new things. We love bargains. It’s okay to bring items into your home. But, if you don’t have a place for it, let it go. Or, let something else go to allow your new treasure the space it needs to be loved and cherished. Your new item deserves that.

 I hope this has helped you take the next step to minimalism. Like I’ve said, minimalism isn’t getting rid of the things you love, it’s getting rid of the things you don’t.

Don’t be held hostage by your possessions today.

Be blessed and simplified.

~Bohemian Christian Chelle

 

Leave a Reply

