Treasures? Really?

Junk Vortex, Stage 2

Treasures? Or, what God considers junk?

Simple living isn’t just a fad. It’s real. And, it’s growing. And, if it’s in you, you have it for all eternity.

So, on that note, let’s get rid of some stuff!

Yet again I have forged ahead into donation zone. But, now it seems I’m at a deeper level. Now instead of things I don’t like or need, it’s the very items that I’ve been keeping for 20 years that God is getting rid of.

And, I’m letting Him do it. And, it’s refreshing.

My stuff shouldn’t control me. I should control my stuff.  So, when He says to get rid of it, I then add it to the pile.

I haven’t missed a thing.

All these beautiful candle holders, lamps, clothes…all things I thought I needed, have now been added to the donation pile.

Praise God.

I’ve also noticed that the more stuff I have, the more time I spend taking care of it.

Laundry

Dusting

Storing

Moving

Worrying about.

The less stuff I have, the fewer worries I have to go along with it.

Matthew 6:19 states:

19 Lay not up for yourselves treasures upon earth, where moth and rust doth corrupt, and where thieves break through and steal:

20 But lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust doth corrupt, and where thieves do not break through nor steal:

21 For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also. (King James Version)

So, I shall store up for myself treasures in heaven, and let these worldly possessions go. God bless’em!

Thank you, God, for Your clarity, Your judgment, and Your divine love.

In Jesus’ mighty name, Amen!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by maria on September 30, 2013 at 3:42 pm

    Those treasures that we seem to want so badly, tend to lose their worth as we move them out of our lives forever! Good for you… you are doing great! m.

    Reply

    • Yes, they do! But, why is it still so hard to part with them. I’m parting with things today. And, wow. It’s difficult, yet freeing all at the same time. Moving forward hurts but is SO worth it.

      Be blessed today, m.

      ~BC_Chelle

      Reply

  2. Hi Chelle,
    I really like this post. I am new to your blog but I am also a blogging Christian minimalist. It is a constant struggle to let go of the treasures we think we have. As you said, though, the real treasure is in heaven. Sometimes it is good to be reminded of that. Thank you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

