Welcome to Donate:365

My Donate:365 Box is ready to go!

My Donate:365 Box is ready to go!

Today I start a new initiative.

I call it Donate:365

I had this thought the other day: If I only donate one thing per day for an entire year, that’s 365 items that I no longer have to worry myself with.

365.

That’s a lot! And, so easy. One item a day. I can do that. Right?

So, I’m challenging myself. And, I invite you to challenge yourself, too. Or, at least follow along on this new journey of mine to encourage minimalism, simple living, and the release of stuff from our lives.

What’s going through my head:

Why am I doing this challenge? Because I have absolutely no follow through. I never finish anything, and it annoys me. I will finish this. With God’s help.

What if I don’t have 365 things to get rid of? I know this statement will crack me up later, but right now, this is what I am thinking of.

What if after Day 5,  I don’t have anything I can dare to donate? Well, if that happens, I will tell you all about it. This minimalism thing is not easy, but when I release that bag of clothing, or that knick knack, or that book I’ve never read and never will, I am so relieved, and refreshed and less burdened. Let’s get rid of our stuff. Let’s only keep that things that truly matter, bring us joy and make us feel good about ourselves.

It’s time.

In the spirit of a good challenge, I’ve developed some ground rules to live by for our sanity. Let me share them with you.

The Rules:

1) Donating someone else’s stuff does not count.

Just as I am not my husband’s Holy Spirit, I am not his minimalizer either. I will be respectful, set a good example, and allow God to handle the rest. This somewhat transfers to Little Girl, however, she’s a five-year-old hoarder wannabe so I’m on alert. LOL

2) Donating — to me — means giving it to a charity, a thrift store, a friend or family member, or any other person or entity  where the item can be used and treasured by someone else and not in my home.

3) I will not make this about me. I pray only that my experience encourages others to rid stuff from their lives that is holding them back.

Matthew 6: 1-3 reminds me:

6 “Be careful not to practice your righteousness in front of others to be seen by them. If you do, you will have no reward from your Father in heaven.

“So when you give to the needy, do not announce it with trumpets, as the hypocrites do in the synagogues and on the streets, to be honored by others. Truly I tell you, they have received their reward in full. But when you give to the needy, do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing, so that your giving may be in secret. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you.

My new journey begins tomorrow. Will you help me on this? I am ready to move forward, but my stuff is holding me back. Let’s do this!

Be blessed, joy-filled and simplified!

~BC_Chelle

6 responses to this post.

  1. I love the title, and only wish I’d found this before I eliminating most of our un-used stuff. It would have been a good method to try! And it does sound easy!

    Reply

    • Good for y’all! I’m so excited to hear you’ve eliminate stuff! It’s all in God’s timing, and I’m so glad you are here now. Thank you so much for your encouragement. Please keep it up! I need it!

      Thank you so much for your comment! Be blessed!

      ~BC_Chelle

      Reply

      • I’m glad to be even a little bit of encouragement, because it’s something we all need so much of! The community aspect of blogging was a really big surprise to me. An unexpected surprise, and a delightful one!

        So thanks for your encouragement too! I sure can use it too, especially lately!

  2. Posted by maria on October 6, 2013 at 2:54 pm

    Chelle…I will be with you through this journey. You will be surprise how quickly you will get to the number above. Peace… m.

    Reply

  3. […] P.S. To see where it all began, visit this link.  […]

    Reply

  4. […] now on Day 206 of this journey. For the last six days, here is my list of items I’ve given […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

