Day 9 & 10 of Donate:365

For today, I am donating two things as I do not post on the Sabbath and I want to stay ahead of the game.

What I’m learning so far: I have a lot of stuff to give away, but I don’t want to do it.

I like my stuff. But my stuff is stressful and dusty and takes up space and makes me worry about my treasures on earth which God warns about in Matthew 6:19-21(NIV):

19 “Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moths and vermin destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. 20 But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moths and vermin do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. 21 For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

And, it is so true! I worry about my stuff. I worry that my door is locked when I leave so that thieves cannot break in and steal. I worry. Stuff makes me worry.

So I’m getting rid of stuff.

Here is the “stuff” I removed from our home today. WOO HOOO!!!!

Day 9  - Donate 365

It’s my wittle bird who sits on the cabinet above my minimalist kitchen sink. (I’ll tell you more about that someday.)

She keeps staring at me with her big round eyes making me feel bad for donating her.

I’ll have my husband put her in the box.

For Day 10, I am donating magazines! That should count. In fact, I am donating two!

Day 10 - Donate 365

I adore Yes! Magazine and get a new subscription every year for either Christmas or my birthday.

It’s all about sustainability, green living, community initiatives, being a good neighbor and member of this planet, and more. Yes, it can go liberal, but if that’s a concern, don’t read that article. SO much good stuff I refuse to throw it away or recycle it. I will pass these on to a friend of mine who adores simple living, sustainability, social justice and more. I hope she will enjoy them and then maybe pass it along.

If you’d like to check out Yes! Magazine for yourself, visit them online at http://www.yesmagazine.org/

If you already know about this fabulous publication, you know the latest issue is the STUFF issue! I was so excited when “Stuff” was the cover! I’m holding on to this one indefinitely. Or, until God tells me to pass it on.

So now instead of a stack of Yes!, I only have the latest one on my side table. It looks nice with my cute little lamp.

Be blessed today! Share something you no longer need and free yourself for your treasures in heaven.

Love y’all!

~Chelle

Leave a Reply

