Day 38 of Donate:365

Well, it’s Day 38, and I have so much to give! I’m so excited about it, too! I am so ready to clean out this house. It’s time to be real.

There is too much stuff cluttering my life. There is just stuff everywhere. I’m so tired of it.

Tired of stuff. Tired of obligations. Tired.

Why do we pile these things on ourselves? What does it amount to?

Nothing.

Absolutely nothing.

That is why Jesus tells us to store up for ourselves treasures in heaven, where thieves cannot steal and moths cannot devour. (From Matthew 6.) Treasures in heaven do not cause complications. They are true and holy and prosperous. Heaven is awesome.

I truly hit a point today where I wanted to get rid of everything and start over. Clean the slate. Begin anew. Doesn’t that sound wonderful?

And, freeing. I breathe in the sincerity of it all. How nice.

Jesus is love. He is easy. He is nice. That’s how I want to live my life. Just like Jesus.

I wonder what Jesus owned? If He owned anything. Jesus himself said he had no place to lay his head. But, did He have a cloak? Did He have a favorite pair of shoes?

Did He care? Probably not. LOL

Matthew 6:25-34

25 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? 26 Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27 Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life[e]?

28 “And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. 29 Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. 30 If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith? 31 So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. 33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

I think Jesus had way better things to think about than stuff. Maybe that’s why He taught us not to care about it. The only thing He cared about loving us. That’s all.

So today, I get rid of a purse. I messenger bag that doesn’t mean a thing.

Day 38 - Donate365

Be blessed tonight, everybody. Please know how much Jesus loves you. He does. SO much

~Chelle

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Finding God Daily on November 12, 2013 at 4:55 am

    I gave two garbage bags full of stuff to GW yesterday. I’m not missing it and excited to do more. I love the verses from Matthew. The Bible puts it all in perspective. Thanks for the post and it’s always interesting to see what you donated. Happy Giving!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

