Donate:365 – The hold our stuff has on us.

I am continuously amazed by the hold my stuff has on me. No one to blame but myself.

Yesterday, I went through a duffel bag and found a ton of clothes that I can no longer fit it…or need.

But what did I do?

Go through each item checking it’s size, weight and serial number.

Sad.

Sad, because I no longer wear this much smaller size, but mostly because I actually took the time to go through this bag of clothes that has been in storage for about 6 years.

Seriously.

I disgust myself at times.

I even found a pair of shorts my flesh wanted to keep. Shorts. Really?

I haven’t worn shorts in 6 years, either.

They aren’t even cute shorts.

Why does stuff have such control of me? Is it a feeling I may “do without?” Is it because “one day I may need them?”

I just don’t get it. Why is this pull so strong? It truly comes down to not trusting God. I don’t trust Him to provide my every need. God says in Matthew 6:19-21 —

19 “Don’t store up treasures here on earth, where moths eat them and rust destroys them, and where thieves break in and steal. 20 Store your treasures in heaven, where moths and rust cannot destroy, and thieves do not break in and steal. 21 Wherever your treasure is, there the desires of your heart will also be.

He also says…

25 “That is why I tell you not to worry about everyday life—whether you have enough food and drink, or enough clothes to wear. Isn’t life more than food, and your body more than clothing? 26 Look at the birds. They don’t plant or harvest or store food in barns, for your heavenly Father feeds them. And aren’t you far more valuable to him than they are? 27 Can all your worries add a single moment to your life? (Matthew 6:25-27)

My God loves me enough to provide and supply for my every need. He promises that in His word. I no longer need to hoard, to scavenge, to worry. He stockpiles my goodness and showers me with it when I need it. It is no longer my job to secure my happiness. My happiness is in Him.

Do you know Jesus as your Lord and Savior? I pray today that you receive Him into your heart and truly realize the rich gifts He has for you. You no longer have need, lack or want. All you have and need is Jesus.

Today, I give all my stuff to Him and receive a renewed trust in Him. He is my sustainer and my provider. He is whole and complete, and I love Him for who He is, not what He does.

I promise that today I will get rid of everything I don’t need. God wants us to get rid of a desk we are holding on to. Today, I will clean it off and get it ready. I am so excited!!!!! I am free!

Praise Him!

~Chelle

Leave a Reply

