DIY Toothpaste – Save Money and Save Your Smile

So, I’m out of toothpaste, and I don’t feel like going to the store. What better way to experiment with DIY recipes then out of simple necessity.

I googled “DIY toothpaste” and boy howdy you find a lot of options.

Ones with coconut oil.

One with some kind of crazy gum in them.

Others with stuff we’d never find around here.

After reviewing several recipes, I went with the one from DIY Natural, which is a cool site I will check out more often. Here’s the recipe for your reference:

  • 2/3 cup baking soda
  • 1 tsp fine sea salt (optional – direct application of the minerals in sea salt is great for teeth, but can be left out if the taste is too salty)
  • 1 – 2 tsp peppermint extract or 10-15 drops peppermint essential oil (or add your favorite flavor – spearmint, orange, etc.)
  • filtered water (add to desired consistency)

This is directly copied from DIY Natural so I do not own it nor try to act like I am smart enough to come up with this on my own.

I found another recipe that has very different measurements from this one — much smaller measurements. I’m trying it first and getting input from the Hubby and Little Girl. I will keep you posted on what we think!

Have you made your own toothpaste? Have a different recipe? Please share!

God bless!

~Chelle

 

 

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Oh my goodness, y’all! I love this stuff! It’s salty, which is definitely weird when it comes to toothpaste, but my mouth feels so much cleaner and my breath stays fresher longer.

    Our daughter, who has extensive dental work, always has awful breath. Her bad breath completely went away! I definitely recommend using this toothpaste! If you have questions or comments, please let me know! GOD BLESS!

    Reply

  2. Toothpaste Update! I’ve modified the recipe to:

    2 Tbsp. Baking Soda
    1/4 teaspoon finely ground salt.
    Peppermint (or your favorite essential oil) to taste

    Viola! Takes about 15 seconds to make, I leave mine dry now, then wet my toothbrush with water, then dip it into the powder mixture. Fabulous!

    If you’ve tried this or other DIY toothpaste recipes, please comment and let me know. God bless!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

